Baylor >  Welcome > Clubs, Events & Awards > Student Literary Contest >  2005 Winners

2005 Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the Student Literary Contest of the Beall Poetry Festival 2005 who received award certificates and checks at a ceremony in the Foyer of Meditation of the Armstrong-Browning Library on the evening of April 14th.

Each received an invitation to a luncheon with the Festival writers, Maura Stanton, Paul Muldoon, Michael Schmidt, and Maxine Kumin.

2005 winners are:

THEODORE JAMES McLEMORE for "Festival" won both The Academy of American Poets prize and the Virginia Beall Ball Poetry Prize.

RACHEL CRAWFORD for "The Limitations of Theory" is the winner of The Poetry In The Arts, Inc., Dr. Robert G. Collmer Award;

LINDSEY PETERSEN for "Following the Arrival of a Book" is the winner of The Poetry in the Arts, Inc., Dr. James Barcus Award;

JOHN SOLTER for "On the Mechanics of Fluids " is winner of the third Poetry In The Arts, Inc. Awards (all Poetry in the Arts, Inc. Awards are sponsored by Ms. Peggy Lynch, member of Baylor's House of Poetry organization.

CLAIRE CASSO for "For Pepe" is the winner of The House of Poetry Prize.

LORI VAN DYKE for "You're Welcome" and JAMIE CROUSE for "Chickasaw National Wildlife Refuge" are the winners of the two Phoenix Awards, sponsored by by the English Department's literary magazine, The Phoenix.

JORDAN CARSON for "Dirty Hands" and LANE MURPHY for "The Rolling Plains" are the winners of the two Dorothy Scarborough Fiction Awards, given by the Baylor Alumni Association.

Click on the hyperlinked titles at right to read
the award-winning literary entries.)