Baylor >  Welcome > Clubs, Events & Awards > Student Literary Contest >  2007 Winners

Read this year's award-winning entries:

"Sparagmos" by Stephen Fisk

"The Inn" by Mary Kolner

"The Reapers" by Stephen Schuler

"Mater Primigena" by Rachel Crawford

"The Island" by Christina Jeffrey

"Proof of an Architect" by Jessica Hooten

"Catch" by Heather Hughes

"Son of Shiloh" by Elizabeth Suggs

"An Unlikely Pheasant Tale" by Johathan Westerfield

"The Blockade" by Matthew Waller

Congratulations to the winners, and thanks to all who submitted for sharing your talents and hard work. Keep writing, and please submit to next year's Beall Poetry Festival Literary Contest!

About this year's Student Literary Contest judge, Elizabeth Spires

2007 Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the Student Literary Contest of the Beall Poetry Festival 2007 who received award certificates and checks at a ceremony on March 29th.

Each received an invitation to a luncheon with the Festival Poets Michael Harper, Derek Walcott, Rosanna Warren and the Contemporary Poetry Lecturer James Longenbach.

The 2007 winners are:

STEPHEN FISK for "Sparagmos" won both The Academy of American Poets Prize and the Virginia Beall Ball Poetry Prize.

MARY KOLNER for "The Inn" is the winner of The Poetry In The Arts, Inc., Dr. Robert G. Collmer Award;

STEPHEN SCHULER for "The Reapers" is the winner of The Poetry in the Arts, Inc., Dr. James Barcus Award;

RACHEL CRAWFORD for "Mater Primigena" is the winner of The Poetry in the Arts Award (Poetry in the Arts, Inc. awards given by Mrs. Peggy Lynch);

CHRISTINA JEFFREY for "The Island" and JESSICA HOOTEN for "Proof of an Architect" are the winners of The House of Poetry Awards given by Mr. Lloyd Sanborn;

HEATHER HUGHES for "Catch" is the winner of The House of Poetry Award given by Dr. and Mrs Eugene Wissler;

ELIZABETH SUGGS for "Son of Shiloh" (3rd Place), JONATHAN WESTERFIELD for "An Unlikely Pheasant Tale" (2nd Place), and MATTHEW WALLER for "The Blockade" (1st Place) are the winners of the three Dorothy Scarborough Fiction Awards given by the Baylor Alumni Association.