The Elizabeth Vardaman Faculty Awards

The Elizabeth Vardaman Award for Excellence in Mentoring Undergraduates was established in Spring 2019 by the College of Arts and Sciences. The award is a way to recognize and shine a light on faculty that go above and beyond in mentoring undergraduate students.








The first recipient of this award was Dr. Susan Bratton, a professor in the Department of Environmental Science, who for many years has devoted her time to help undergraduate research at Baylor University. For more information on the award and on Dr. Bratton's efforts on behalf of undergraduates go to  


Call for Nominations 

You are invited to nominate deserving faculty for the second annual Elizabeth Vardaman Award for Excellence in Mentoring Undergraduates.  The award is presented to faculty who go beyond the call of duty in their mentorship of undergraduates, demonstrating excellence in, and sustained commitment to, helping these students excel through engaged learning activities.  This includes, but is not limited to, mentorship in activities such as: guided research, scholarship, and creative expression; internships, employment, or professional development; academically informed civic and community engagement; study abroad; pursuit of fellowships and awards; and leadership development.  If you would like to nominate your colleagues or your professors, please fill out the nomination form below.