John S. Belew Award - Outstanding Male in Community Service

Award Description

The John S. Belew Award for Outstanding Male Student in Community Service is given annually to a current Baylor male student to provide special recognition for his individual contribution of time, talent and effort in the Waco community.

The John S. Belew Award for Most Outstanding Male Volunteer was initiated in 1988 in honor of its namesake. Dr. John S. Belew graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree from Baylor in 1941. He returned to Baylor in 1956 as an assistant professor of chemistry. Dr. Belew held many positions at Baylor, including Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs. Dr. Belew was active in many community organizations including the Waco Heart Association, Waco Performing Arts Company, Clean Community Systems and Midway Independent School District Board of Trustees. For this reason and to honor his legacy, The John S. Belew for Outstanding Male Student in Community Service is awarded annually to an undergraduate male Baylor student who has exhibited an exemplary dedication to community service.

  • Nominee must have personally contributed much of his time, talent and effort toward serving others in the community.
  • Nominee needs to have demonstrated commitment to serving others over the course of his college career, including but not limited to activities through Baylor student organizations or community agencies.
  • Nominee does not need to have held a leadership position, as this prize is awarded primarily on the basis of service and is not intended to be a leadership award.
Past Winners

David Rendon (2015-2016)

Bryan Tehrani (2014-2015)

Aakash Bhuta (2011-12)

Matt Schnarr (2008-09)

Alan Kramer (2007-08)

Malik Hemani (2005-06)

Victor Saldivar (2003-04)

Wes Johnson (2002-03)

Tony Morelandt (2000-01)

Griff Martin (1999-2000)

Rex Foster (1998-99)

Omoniyi Omotoso (1998-99)

Ben Studer (1997-98)

Rafferty Laredo (1996-97)

Steven Marchalleck (1994-95, 1995-96)

Samuel D. Loughlin (1993-94)

Mark Pearson (1992-93)

Noe Sepulveda (1991-92)

Michael D. Williamson (1990-91)

Mark Medley (1989-90)

Walter Moreau (1988-89)

David Paul Sabater (1987-88)