Outstanding Student Group in Education & Advocacy


The Award for Outstanding Student Group in Education and Advocacy is given annually to a student group that successfully engages the campus community by generating awareness, support, and positive action toward a particular social issue(s). This award is given to groups that have demonstrated excellence in regards to engaging in these issues and working collaboratively to make a difference.


This award was created with the goal of recognizing the outstanding work that our student groups do in engaging in global issues and becoming global citizens who care about social issues around the world. That care translates into action here on campus, as students conduct events to generate awareness, as they host documentaries and educate themselves on the complexities of immigration or human trafficking, as they raise money through campaigns to address global poverty or the water crisis. Our students do tremendous work in terms of creating awareness and action on campus. This award is a way to recognize a group that does an exceptional job engaging their peers and contributing to that culture of care on campus.


Selection Criteria
Groups qualifying for consideration for the Outstanding Student Group in Education & Advocacy Award must:
  • Demonstrate each of the five benchmarks of meaningful service:
    • Impact- Difference your organization has made in the community and supported other community efforts
    • Quality-Coordination of service, planning, communication, relationship w/ community
    • Relationship- Successful partnerships with fellow students, those served, and community partners)
    • Context- Understanding of the larger issue on a state, national and/or global level
    • Learning-Use of reflection and debriefing for students to personally learn and grow
  • Involve members (organization should aim at having at least 75% participation rates in the group's service activities)

Past Winners

Zeta Tau Alpha (2015-2016)

International Justice Mission, Baylor (2014-2015)