Commission Members

*26 members*
Baylor Degrees in Parentheses

Commission Co-Chairs

  • Alicia D.H. Monroe, M.D., Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic and Faculty Affairs, Baylor College of Medicine and member, Baylor Board of Regents 
  • Gary Mortenson, D.M.A., Professor and Dean, Baylor University School of Music
  • Walter Abercrombie (B.S. ’82, M.S.Ed. ’92), Associate Athletics Director for Baylor “B” Association

Commission Members

  • Katie Adair (Doctoral Candidate), President, Graduate Student Association 
  • Joel Allison (B.A. ’70), retired President and CEO, Baylor Scott & White Health; former Chair, Baylor Board of Regents 
  • Jayson Baldridge, Senior, Student-Athlete, Track & Field
  • Lexy Bogney, Junior, Secretary and Community Coordination Chair, Baylor NAACP 
  • Michael A. Evans, Sr. (D.Min. ’09), Senior Pastor, Bethlehem Baptist Church, Mansfield, TX member Baylor Board of Regents, and President, Baptist General Convention of Texas
  • Malcolm Foley (Ph.D. Candidate), Special Advisor to the President for Equity and Campus Engagement
  • Cheryl Gochis (B.A. ’91, M.A. ’94), Vice President, Human Resources/Chief Human Resources Officer
  • Dominque Hill, Director of Wellness and Past-President, Black Faculty and Staff Association 
  • Sutton Houser, Senior, Student Body President
  • Trent Hughes (B.A. ’98), Vice President of Sales, Curazene and Vice President, Baylor Alumni Board of Advocates
  • Sher Isada, Junior, University Scholar, and Student Regent
  • Alan Lefever (B.A. ’84), Director, Texas Baptist Historical Collection and member, Baylor Alumni Board of Advocates
  • Sandra Lené, Associate Vice President, Operations and Financial Services, Advancement 
  • Mark Lovvorn (B.B.A. ’76, B.Acc. ’77), Chairman and CEO Providence Bancshares Corporation, Dallas, TX and member, Baylor Board of Regents
  • Michael McFarland (B.B.A. ’93, Ed.D. ’05), Superintendent of Schools, Crowley Independent School District and member, Baylor Board of Regents
  • Bill Neilson, M.D., (B.A. ’76), retired Associate Dean, Honors College and Clinical Professor, Medical Humanities 
  • Michael Parrish, Ph.D. (B.A. ’74, M.A. ’76), Linden G. Bowers Professor of American History
  • Coretta Pittman, Ph.D., Associate Professor of English and Chair-Elect, Faculty Senate
  • Mia Moody-Ramirez, Ph.D. (M.S.Ed. ’98, M.A. ’01), Professor and Chair, Journalism, Public Relations and New Media 
  • Marcus Sedberry, Senior Associate Athletics Director for Student-Athlete Development
  • Tyrha Lindsey-Warren, Ph.D., Clinical Assistant Professor of Marketing
  • Doug Weaver, Ph.D., Professor of Religion, Undergraduate Program Director and Director of Church-State Studies
  • Mya Ellington-Williams, Senior, member, Black Student Union 

Ex-Officio Commission Members

  • Kristy Orr (J.D. ’03), Baylor University Board Professional
  • Todd Copeland, Ph.D. (B.A. ’90), Director, Advancement Marketing
  • Karen Kemp (B.B.A. ’84, M.B.A. ’85), Associate Vice President, University Marketing and Brand Strategy


The charge and membership for the Commission were sent via email and released on the Baylor University Board of Regents website: eNews: Baylor University Announces Charges, Members of Commission on Historic Campus Representations.