Oct. 7, 2011

Baylor Law Notches Sixth Win in a Row at Administrative Law Competition

It has become a tradition for a Baylor Law team to stand in the winner's circle at the Mack Kidd Administrative Law Moot Court Competition, and this year was no exception. For the sixth year in a row, Baylor Law took first place at the competition, which was held in Austin Oct. 22-23. The team of Will Thomas and Stephanie Larsen were undefeated during the tournament. Additionally, the team received the award for Best Brief and Thomas was named Best Speaker in the finals. Kathy Serr, advocacy program coordinator, served as coach.  Full Story

Baylor Law Team Wins Emory Civil Rights Moot Court Competition

A Baylor Law moot court team won the Emory Civil Rights-Liberties Moot Court Competition last weekend in Atlanta. The team of Sarah Scott, Saba Syed, Anna Williams defeated SMU in the final round to claim the win for Baylor. A second team of Taylor Romero, Laura Vermillon, and Matt Sheridan also did well in the competition. Scott, Syed and Williams also received the Best Brief Award.  Full Story

Baylor Law Alumnus Appointed to Access to Justice Commission

Baylor Law alumnus Ike Vanden Eykel of Dallas has been appointed by the State Bar of Texas to the Texas Access to Justice Commission. Vanden Eykel will serve a three-year term. "Ike understands the lawyer's obligation to serve and follows in the path of many distinguished Baylor lawyers who have given themselves over selflessly to assume leadership roles among their peers," said Baylor Law Dean Brad Toben.  Full story

Baylor Law School Kicks Off the Inaugural Firm Challenge

The Baylor Law Firm Challenge affords law firms comprised of eight or more Baylor Lawyers an opportunity to participate in a friendly competition of giving with your fellow Baylor Lawyers at other firms. The goal of the Firm Challenge is for 100 percent of the alumni in participating firms to make a gift of any amount to Baylor Law School. Winning firms receive prominent signage in the Career Development Office and public recognition in the Docket Call, Rocket Docket and on Baylor Law's website.

A heartfelt thank you to the following firms who joined the Baylor Law School Firm Challenge as our Founding Firms. We appreciate the Founding Firms for partnering with the Law School as we fine tune the program before rolling it out to all firms next fall.

Founding Firms:

  • Beard Kultgen Brophy Bostwick Dickson & Squires LLP
  • Bracewell & Giuliani LLP
  • Fulbright & Jaworski, LLP
  • Harris, Finley & Bogle, P.C.
  • Hartline Dacus Barger Dreyer LLP
  • K&L Gates LLP
  • Looper Reed & McGraw P.C.
  • Locke Lord Bissell & Liddell
  • Naman, Howell, Smith & Lee, PLLC
  • Potter Minton, P.C.*
  • Winstead PC

*Hats off to Potter Minton, P.C., for being the first firm to achieve 100 percent giving participation! We are grateful for your support. 

All Founding Firms that achieve 100 percent participation by May 31, 2012, will receive prominent signage in the Career Development Office, announcements in the Docket Call, Rocket Docket and Baylor Law School's website.

On the Road Again

Members of the Admissions Committee and admissions staff have been on the road this fall promoting the law school to and meeting with prospective applicants.  We've attended recruiting events in Arizona, California, Colorado, D.C., Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Illinois, Kansas, Massachusetts, New York, North Carolina, Utah and Texas.  At the end of the fall recruiting season, we will have met with more than 1,000 prospective applicants.  To learn more about the events we have attended, please click here.

Your Alumni Team

In efforts to keep you connected to Baylor Law School and make your alumni experience rewarding, your Alumni Team is here for you.  Let us know how we can serve you.

Julie Corley, Director of Development

Julie Carlson, Director of Communications & Marketing

Berkley Scroggins, Assistant Director of Alumni Relations

connect to alumni
hire a bear
make a gift
submit a news story

Julie Carlson


254.710.6681 Direct

254.710.1911 Main

254.710.2316 Fax