Baylor University
Department of Classics
College of Arts and Sciences

Baylor > Welcome > Special Programs > Baylor in Italy > Tentative Itinerary


Tentative Itinerary


Baylor in Italy 2018 Itinerary

Summer 1: 28 May - 3 July

WEEK 1

May 28 (Mon): Arrive in Rome
CLA/ENG students: transfer by bus to hotel in Rome; ANT students: transfer by bus to Barbarano Romano

May 29 (Tues)
CLA/ENG: AM: Imperial fora; PM: Keats/Shelley House; Upper Campus
ANT: field work

May 30 (Wed)
CLA/ENG: Lower Campus; Circus Maximus, Forum Boarium
ANT: field work

May 31 (Thurs)
CLA/ENG: Pyr. of Cestius, cemetery; Ostia Antica
ANT: field work

June 1 (Fri)
CLA/ENG: AM: Catacombs; PM: free
ANT: field work

June 2 (Sat)
ANT: Early train to Rome (via Sutri/Capranica) Rendezvous with CLA/ENG students and tour Colosseum and Forum

June 3 (Sun)
ANT and CLA/ENG: AM: Vatican museum; PM: free time in Rome
Evening train to Capranica for ANT students
Evening bus to Viterbo for CLA/ENG students

WEEK 2

June 4 (Mon)
CLA/ENG: class day
ANT: field work

June 5 (Tues)
CLA/ENG: class day
ANT: field work

June 6 (Wed)
CLA/ENG: class day
ANT: field work

June 7 (Thurs)
CLA/ENG: class day
ANT: field work

June 8 (Fri)
CLA/ENG: class day/COTRAL to Montefiascone
ANT: field work

June 9 (Sat)
CLA/ENG: bus trip to visit Tivoli or Assisi
ANT drive vans to Sutri/Capranica to catch the train to Viterbo

June 10 (Sun)
Free day

WEEK 3

June 11 (Mon)
CLA/ENG: class day
ANT: field work

June 12 (Tues)
CLA/ENG: class day
ANT: field work

June 13 (Wed)
CLA/ENG: class day
ANT: field work

June 14 (Thurs)
CLA/ENG: class day
ANT: field work

June 15 (Fri)
CLA/ENG: class day
ANT: field work

June 16 (Sat)
CLA/ENG and ANT: bus trip to Banditaccia (Etruscan cemetery), lunch in Cerveteri, tour of castle at Santa Severa, afternoon at the beach

June 17 (Sun)
CLA/ENG: free day
ANT: field work

WEEK 4

June 18 (Mon)
CLA/ENG: class day
ANT: field work

June 19 (Tues)
CLA/ENG: class day
ANT: field work

June 20 (Wed)
CLA/ENG: visit to Barbarano
ANT: field work

June 21 (Thurs)
CLA/ENG: class day
ANT: field work

June 22 (Fri)
ANT and CLA/ENG: depart for Venice; overnight in Venice

June 23 (Sat)
ANT and CLA/ENG: day in Venice, departing for Prato ca. 5 pm; overnight in Prato

June 24 (Sun)
ANT and CLA/ENG: take train from Prato to Florence; spend day in Florence and then meet the bus to return to Viterbo/Barbarano Romano

WEEK 5

June 25 (Mon)
CLA/ENG: class day
ANT: field work

June 26 (Tues)
CLA/ENG: class day
ANT: field work

June 27 (Wed)
CLA/ENG: class day
ANT: field work

June 28 (Thurs)
CLA/ENG: class day
ANT: lab work and site closure

June 29 (Fri)
ANT and CLA/ENG transfer by bus to Lake Bolsena

June 30 (Sat)
CLA/ENG: free day in Bolsena
ANT: post-excavation work, free afternoon

July 1 (Sun)
CLA/ENG: free day in Bolsena
ANT: post-excavation work, free afternoon

WEEK 6

July 2 (Mon)
CLA/ENG: final exams
ANT: finalize post-excavation work

July 3 (Tues)
ALL: transfer to Rome/FCO for students to return home

Summer 2: 5 July - 8 August

WEEK 1

3 July (Tues)
Second Session Students fly from USA

4 July (Wed)
Second Session Students arrive in Rome/transfer to Viterbo

5 July (Thurs)
first class day

6 July (Fri)
Day trip Assisi

7 July (Sat)
class day

8 July (Sun)
Free day in Viterbo

WEEK 2

9 July (Mon)
Day trip to Pienza and Siena

10 July (Tues)
class day

11 July (Wed)
Transfer to Rome

12 July (Thurs)
class day

13 July (Fri)
class day

14 July (Sat)
class day

15 July (Sun)
class day

WEEK 3

16 July (Mon)
class day

17 July (Tues)
Rome AM (Vatican Museums); PM Special Tour Necropolis

18 July (Wed)
Rome

19 July (Thurs)
Day in Rome; late PM transfer to Prato

20 July (Fri)
Florence; late PM transfer to Viterbo

21 July (Sat)
class day

22 July (Sun)
free day

WEEK 4

23 July (Mon)
free day

24 July (Tues)
class day

25 July (Wed)
class day

26 July (Thurs)
class day

27 July (Fri)
class day

28 July (Sat)
class day

29 July (Sun)
class day

WEEK 5

30 July (Mon)
class day

31 July (Tues)
AM Bus to Naples, boat to Capri

1 August (Wed)
Capri

2 August (Thurs)
Capri

3 August (Fri)
PM Boat to Salerno; transfer to Paestum

4 August (Sat)
Excursion to Herculaneum and Oplontis

5 August (Sun)
night at Paestum: Trip to Pompeii

WEEK 6

6 August (Mon)
Paestum: visit Archaeological Park of Paestum

7 August (Tues)
AM: Exams /  PM: Bus to Hotel at Rome Airport

8 August (Wed)
flight to USA


0