Director & Jo Murphy Chair
Naymond Keathley
Dr. Naymond Keathley is the Interim Director for the Center for International Education and the Jo Murphy Chair. A Baylor alumnus, Keathley received his bachelor's degree in history with minors in English, German and religion. After earning his bachelor of divinity degree and doctorate from the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Keathley served on the faculty at Palm Beach Atlantic College and Golden Gate Baptist Theological Seminary. He has taught at Baylor since 1981.

An expert in New Testament studies, Keathley is the author of Discovering Romans and The Church's Mission to the Gentiles: Acts of the Apostles, Epistles of Paul. He also has written for the Holman Bible Dictionary, The Mercer Dictionary of the Bible, Review and Expositor, and Journal of Church and State, among other publications.

His service at Baylor has included associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, director of undergraduate studies for the religion department, liaison between the religion department and George W. Truett Theological Seminary, Senior Vice Provost, Interim Director of the Center for International Education, and member of the Faculty Senate.

He also has served as interim pastor for churches in Florida and California, as messenger for the Baptist General Convention of Texas, and as a participant at national assemblies of the Cooperative Baptist Fellowship.

He and his wife, Carolyn, whom he met while both were students at Baylor, are members of Seventh and James Baptist Church. They have three children, all Baylor graduates.

History of Jo Murphy Chair

Jo Murphy Prior to 1979, the Office of the Chaplain was responsible for facilitation of immigration services and orientation for international students, and for providing assistance to outgoing students. In 1979, Dr. David Uber was named Director of International Programs. A part-time International Student Advisor and a volunteer Host Family program coordinator provided services to the international student population, which grew from 88 in 1979 to 140 in 1984.

In 1991, the Jo Murphy Chair in International Education was established; Dr. John S. Belew was designated as the first holder of this chair. The number of exchange programs grew substantially, as did the numbers of international students, which had increased to 310 by the Fall of 1996.

Upon Dr. Belew's retirement in 1996, Dr. James Vardaman was appointed to this chair; substantial growth continued in programs, in the numbers of international students (to 401 by Fall, 2000), and in the academic offerings of the Area Studies Programs.

Dr. William A. Mitchell, a member of the Baylor Political Science faculty since 1993,succeeded Dr. Vardaman in 2000. Under Dr. Mitchell's leadership, Baylor continued to expand its exchange and study abroad programs and to increase the number of students studying worldwide while, at the same time and in the face of challenging world events, Baylor was able to sustain the level of enrollment of international students.

On February 1, 2007 Michael D. Morrison, the William J. Boswell Professor of Law at Baylor Law School, became The Jo Murphy Chair in International Education and director of the Center for International Education.

On April 1, 2011, Dr. Naymond Keathley stepped into the role of the Jo Murphy Chair and the Interim Director for the Center for International Education. Dr. Keathley had previosly held the position of Senior Vice Provost.