Since its inception in 1985, The Northcutt Lecture Series has become an integral part of the academic and spiritual life of the Baylor University School of Music. Designed to bring nationally and internationally known church music scholars to Baylor University, The Northcutt Lecture is made possible by an endowment from LeGrande and Cassandra Northcutt of Longview, Texas.

Spring 2019 - Constance Cherry - April 2, 4:00 pm

“Vetting a Canon of Congregational Song: Keeping it Honest, Making it Whole”

Rev. Dr. Constance Cherry is Professor of Worship and Pastoral Ministry at Indiana Wesleyan University where she directs three distinct programs in Christian worship. She is also a founding faculty member of The Robert E. Webber Institute for Worship Studies. Constance is an experienced worship leader, musician, and pastor, having served in local church ministry for many years. She is a published author, composer, and hymn writer. Her first book, The Worship Architect: A Blueprint for Designing Culturally Relevant and Biblically Faithful Services is used as a required text at more than 150 institutions of higher education worldwide and is available in four languages. Her three subsequent books are also available in multiple languages. Her hymn texts appear in six major hymnals. Constance maintains an extensive schedule of speaking and teaching internationally.

Past Presenters Include:

John Witvliet, Lester Ruth, Jeremy Begbie, Ruth Duck, Carl Shalk, Brian Wren, I-to Loh, Carl P. Daw, Jr., Emily Brink, Don Sailers, Harry Eskew, Carlton Young, Helen Kemp, Donald P. Hustad, Paul Westermeyer, Thomas Troeger, Marva Dawn, Alice Parker, Jane Marshall, Benjamin Harlan, Michael Hawn, Terry York, Allen Walworth, Harold Best, Gordon Borror, Jerry Warren, Robert Shaw, Paul Manz, Milburn Price, William O'Brien.

View Past Recordings

To view recordings from past Norcutt Lecture Series presentations visit our Academic Research & Resource Library.