2018 Fall Physics Colloquium Series: Howard Lee, Ph.D.

DateOctober 31, 2018
Time4:00 - 5:00 pm
LocationBaylor Sciences Building, Room E.125
2018 Fall Physics Colloquium Series

Howard Lee, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Department of Physics
Baylor University
IQSE Fellow & Visiting Professor
Institute for Quantum Science and Engineering
Texas A&M

Nanoscale Lightweight Optics for Imaging, Sensing,and Space Technologies

I will review our recent research efforts on the physics and applications of nano-optics. I will present our recent development on the use of zero-index materials to demonstrate ultrathin optical films capable of electrically tunable optical phase, amplitude, and perfect absorption. The prospective applications of these ultrathin materials and metasurfaces for extreme nonlinear/quantum optical properties, ultrathin optical devices, and space technologies will be discussed. Finally, I will discuss a new concept of meta-optical fiber by introducing metasurfaces and zero-index materials into optical fibers for development of novel and ultracompact in-fiber optical devices such as an optical fiber metalens. These advanced meta-optical fibers open the path to revolutionary in-fiber optical imaging and communication applications.


Dr. Howard Lee is currently Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics at Baylor University and IQSE Fellow and visiting professor in the Institute for Quantum Science and Engineering (IQSE) at Texas A&M. He was a Postdoctoral Fellow at the Department of Applied Physics and Materials Science at Caltech, working with Prof. Harry Atwater in active plasmonics/metasurfaces. He received his PhD in Physics from the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light in Germany in 2012 under the supervision of Prof. Philip Russell (2015 President of OSA). His work on nano-optics and plasmonics has led to publications in various journals, such as Science, Nano Letters, Advanced Materials, and Optics Letters as well as 45 invited talks and 130 conference papers. Dr. Lee is a recipient of 2018 NSF CAREER Award, 2017 DARPA Young Faculty Award, 2017 APS Robert S. Hyer Award, 2018 OSA Ambassador, 2018 Baylor Young Investigator Award, 2016 Baylor Proposal Development Award, and 2012 Croucher Postdoctoral Fellowship. His group has awarded for external grants with total amount of ~ $3M in the first three years at Baylor University.

For more information contact: Dr. Anzhong Wang 254-710
PublisherDepartment of Physics
vCalDownload this event