Business News

Business News NEWSROOM

Baylor Students Participate in xTAX Competition

Oct. 14, 2004

On October 13, 2004, 40 Baylor students participated in the 2004 PricewaterhouseCoopers xTAX competition.  Each of the eight teams had two weeks to develop a plan to address a high-level tax policy issue provided by PwC.  Presentations of each team's solution were judged by three PwC partners.

The Department of Accounting and Business Law congratulates the winning teams.   First place winners Erica Allen, Rachel Allen, Onyeka Ilobi, Julia MacDonald, and Julia Stark will share $1,000.  Their presentation will be entered in a national review of all winning teams to select the top five teams in the country.  Second place winners Colin Carney, Jorge Garces, Alex Castaneda, Amy Boatman, and John Paul Esquivel received $50 gift certificates to Lands End.

Baylor was one of only about 20 schools nationwide invited to participate in the competition.  This was the first year that teams from Baylor University participated in the annual competition.

Border Title