Business News

Business News NEWSROOM

Baylor Students Awarded Scholarships

April 16, 2003


Seven Baylor University students were awarded scholarships from the Insurance Council of Texas (ICT) during banquet ceremonies last evening on the Baylor campus.

The ICT awarded $5,000 in scholarships to students who have taken risk management and insurance courses and excelled in their studies.

The banquet featured the awarding of scholarships and a dinner hosted by the student RMI fraternity, Gamma Iota Sigma, at the Harrington House beginning at 5:30 p.m.  Afterward, a panel discussion on current legislative issues facing the insurance industry took place at the Stacy Riddle Forum.  The panelists included Rick Gentry, executive director of the ICT, Allen Seward, Baylor associate professor of finance and insurance and Greg Vanek, president and chief operating officer for American Summit Insurance Company and National Lloyds Insurance Company in Waco.

Those receiving scholarships were Ryan Neal of Fort Worth, Patrick Clagget of Collierville, Tn., Helen Davant of San Antonio, Anna McGlothlin of Rowlett, Michael Magnuson of Woodbury, Mn., Alexandra Wilson of Murphy and Isaac Haas of Dallas.

"All of the young men and women are exceptional students and we hope these scholarships will spur an interest in building a career in the insurance industry," said Mark Hanna, manager of public relations for the Insurance Council of Texas located in Austin.  

This is the second year in a row that the ICT has awarded scholarships to students at Baylor and the University of Texas at Austin.  The University of North Texas was added this year. 

The Insurance Council of Texas is the largest insurance trade association in the state consisting of more than 400 property and casualty insurers writing business in Texas.


Border Title