Business News

Business News NEWSROOM

Baylor Team Wins National MBA Case Competition in Ethical Leadership

Dec. 3, 2019

By Caroline Mitchell

The Hankamer School of Business hosted the 13th Annual National MBA Case Competition in Ethical Leadership Nov. 7-8. The competition was a part of the Dale P. Jones Business Ethics Forum and was comprised of 12 teams from university MBA programs across the nation. The purpose of the case competition is to advance the development of ethical leaders through experiential learning. The competition recognizes and promotes MBA students and their programs for their participation in the event.

The Baylor University team, Arjun Azavedo, Kathryn Huff, Lisa Long and Abbey Mackey, won first place.

“Everything we have learned through the Baylor MBA program is rooted in ethical, servant leadership. I believe that is why our team saw success in the Ethics Case Competition,” Huff said.

The teams received cases and final instructions during the competition launch on Thursday, Nov. 7, and then worked all day to prepare for the first round of competition on Friday morning. Three teams were named as finalists during a Friday luncheon and then competed in the finals on Friday afternoon.

“The analysis and presentation was a bit of a whirlwind. We had 24 hours to read, analyze and create a PowerPoint presentation on our proposal,” Mackey said. “This case was particularly interesting because it encompassed more than just a numbers game of profits and losses. I enjoyed researching the impact that companies have on their communities and the opportunities for betterment.”

Long added, “It was quite meaningful that we were examining ethics issues in the corporate world, especially since so often these days the focus is on financial gain or shareholder wealth rather than corporate responsibility.”

Azavedo said the most important thing the team learned from the case was that “every stakeholder is equally valuable while analyzing the ethical impacts of any decision.”

The team from Texas Christian University, which included Kyle Flottman, Kimberly Hughes, Claire Lukeman and Ryan Winn, won second place. Southern Methodist University’s team, comprised of Ahtsham Ahmad, Veronika Joy, Shiv Venkatasetty and Anna Williams, won third place.

Winners of the Best Presenter awards were Ryan Winn from Texas Christian University, Justin Ashby from Brigham Young University and Kyle Nethers from Oklahoma State University. Awards for Best Q&A were awarded to Coren Crompton from Auburn University, Dan Snow from Brigham Young University and Kate Ingersoll from the University of Minnesota.

Universities may contact Dr. Mitch Neubert at for information about competing in the Fall 2020 competition.

Border Title