Business News

Business News NEWSROOM

Baylor University’s Robbins Institute for Health Policy and Leadership Awards $27,000 at Healthcare Management Case Competition

Nov. 11, 2019

A student team from Trinity University took home first place and $12,000 in Baylor University’s 5th annual Robbins Case Competition in Healthcare Management October 25. Overall, Baylor awarded a total of $27,000 in the competition to individual students and student teams.

The case competition is a forum for master’s-level students and attending faculty to network and interact with healthcare industry professionals, build academic-industry partnerships and opportunities for internships, residencies and future employment.

“The competition was designed to provide a forum for master’s-level students to participate in a national case competition in healthcare management with a distinct financial emphasis,” said Scott Garner, administrative director of the Robbins Institute. “This is an increasingly critical area of expertise within the healthcare industry.”

Second place and $8,000 went to the University of Pittsburgh team. University of Alabama’s team earned third place, collecting $4,000.

Competing universities are chosen from among full-time CAHME-accredited or BAMH-member programs. Participation in the event is by invitation only. Participating schools included:

  • University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • University of Colorado – Denver
  • Cornell University
  • George Washington University
  • The University of Iowa
  • The Ohio State University
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • Rush University
  • Saint Louis University
  • University of Toronto
  • Trinity University
  • University of Washington – Seattle

The Best Q&A from the three morning venues was awarded to: Lajvanthi Sudhaker, Saint Louis University; Josh Williams, University of Toronto; and Maddie Haftel, Cornell University. Each of these students received $500.

The Best Presenters from the three morning venues were: Tiffany Daniel, The Ohio State University; Nikola Yerkan, Rush University; and Christina Fortugno, University of Alabama at Birmingham. Each of these students received $500.

Border Title