Entrepreneurship & Corporate Innovation

2011 Competition Awards

Baylor Business Entrepreneurship & Corporate Innovation

The 2011 Baylor-USASBE Student Case Writing Competition was held at the USASBE (United States Association of Small Business Education) Conference at Hilton Head, South Carolina on January 13, 2011.

Cash prizes were $2,000 for first place, $1,000 for second place; and $500 for third place.

Competition award winners were:

  • First place: Queens University of Charlotte
    Student presenters: Jud Allen and Margaret Jane Willoughby
    Case title: "U.S. National Whitewater Center"

    Queens University Of Charlotte Team

  • Second place: IBS Hyderabad, India
    Student presenters: Somaditya Das and Wasim Kalwa
    Case title: "SKS Microfinance: Managing Growth and Continuity of a Social Enterprise"

    IBS Hyderbad India Team

  • Third Place: University of Colorado at Boulder
    Student presenters: Ryan Karlin and Rois Langner
    Case title: "Tendril Networks, Inc."

    University of Colorado at Boulder Team

The finalists who also presented at the meeting before the three judges were:

  • •Samford University
    Student case writers: Devon Bagwell, Noel Dowling, Will Satterfield, Heather Williams
    Case title: "Alabama Air Shuttle: Fight or Flight?"

    Samford University Team

  • •Memorial University, St. John's, Newfoundland
    Student case writer: Megan Denty
    Case title: "The Road to the Beaches"

    Memorial University St Johns Newfoundland Student

  • •Wayne State University
    Student case writer: Linda Rusin
    Case title: "Where Has All the IP Gone?"

    Wayne State University Student

"I was very pleased with the response from students from all over the world--especially since this was our first year for this competition. It is our hope that even more student cases will be submitted by their faculty supervisors for the competition this year," Baylor professor of management Marlene Reed said.

Border Title