The Armstrong Browning Library, free and open to the public, is located on the campus of Baylor University in Waco, Texas. It is a 19th-century research center dedicated to the study of the lives and works of Victorian poets Robert and Elizabeth Barrett Browning and houses the world's largest collection of Browning material and other fine collections of rare 19th-century books, manuscripts, and works of art.
The Library opened in 1951, the culmination of the dedication and determination of Dr. A. J. Armstrong, former chairman of the Baylor English Department, and his wife Mary Maxwell Armstrong. It has also become a popular stop for travelers and school groups who are attracted by the love story and poetry of the Brownings or by the unique beauty of the building. It is an ideal setting for a wide array of scholarly and public programs. These include lectures, musical occasions, cultural events, conferences, and exhibitions. It is supported by Baylor University and by generous endowments provided by a patron organization of "Guardian Angels."
Please explore the following pages; we hope the unique aspects of the Library and its collections will be illuminating to both the scholar and the interested visitor.