BRIC Foundations Lecture Series

Initiated in 2013, the BRIC Foundations: Perspectives from Leaders in Innovation lecture series brings highly regarded scientists, engineers, executives and others prominent in their fields to the BRIC to impart their experience and ideas. The notion of a series of colloquia at the BRIC has been an integral part of the discovery park's basic concept from the very beginning, as Dr. Truell Hyde, Baylor University vice provost for research relates.

"Great innovations are always preceded by great ideas. Great ideas come from people who are both knowledgeable and experienced in their field but who also think outside the box," Hyde says. "One of the ways the BRIC promotes such innovation is to bring proven visionaries to town to share their perspectives with the rest of us."

The twice-yearly series hosts influential experts from many fields, among them science and engineering, education, business and industry, public service and administration. This is evidenced in the series’ first two speakers.

Dr. John C. Mather, co-winner with Dr. George Smoot of the 2006 Nobel Prize in Physics inaugurated the series in November 2013. In April 2014, Mr. Nick Farah, Sector President of Platform Systems and Division President of Platform Integration for aerospace technology firm L-3 Communications delivered the second Foundations lecture.

On November 13th, Mr. Paul T. Evans, P.E., will present the third presentation in the series. A noted expert in advanced manufacturing processes and technologies and director of the Manufacturing Systems Department at the renowned Southwest Research Institute in San Antonio, Texas, Mr. Evans will speak on Enabling Manufacturing Innovation in America.

Baylor University is a private Christian university and a nationally ranked research institution, characterized as having “high research activity” by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The university provides a vibrant campus community for approximately 15,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating university in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 11 nationally recognized academic divisions. Baylor sponsors 19 varsity athletic teams and is a founding member of the Big 12 Conference.