November 2003 Honors

November 2, 2003
Dr. James M. Bennighof, professor of music theory and vice provost for academic administration, and Dr. Scott McAllister, assistant professor of composition, received the 2003-2004 ASCAP Award from the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers.

Dr. Bryan W. Brooks, assistant professor of environmental studies, was appointed to the student activities committee of the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry. He was elected to the board of directors and appointed vice president of the South Central region of the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry. He was elected secretary of the Gulf Coast region of the Society of Toxicology.

Dr. Gerald B. Cleaver, assistant professor of physics, received a Templeton Foundation fellowship to attend an American Scientific Affiliation annual meeting July 25-28 in Lakewood, Colo., and his presentation titled "String Cosmology: God's Blueprint for the Universe" was chosen for review in an upcoming issue of Research News and Opportunities in Science.

Dr. William V. Davis, professor of English and Writer-in-Residence, was selected to review manuscipts submitted for the "On Poetry" issue of PMLA, the journal of the Modern Language Association.

Dr. David E. Garland, professor of Christian scriptures and associate dean of Truett Seminary, had a commentary on Mark included in the Zondervan Illustrated Bible Backgrounds Commentary, which was awarded the Gold Medallion for Research by the Christian Publishers Association.

Dr. James R. Garven, professor of finance and insurance and The Frank S. Groner Memorial Professor of Finance, and Dr. Richard D. MacMinn, Illinois State University, received the 2003 Robert I. Mehr Award from the American Risk and Insurance Association for a co-authored article titled "The Underinvestment Problem, Bond Covenants and Insurance."

Jeryl Hejl, billing coordinator in public relations, was elected Outstanding Toastmasters Vice President for Public Relations in 2003 for Texas Division D.

Dr. Michael F. Korpi, chair and professor of communication studies, was named a Senior Research Fellow of the IC2 Institute at the University of Texas at Austin.

Dr. Judith Wright Lott, dean of the Louise Herrington School of Nursing and associate professor of nursing, was named a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing.

Vicki Northern, lecturer in social work, was elected to the leadership search committee of the Texas chapter of the National Association of Social Workers. She was named Outstanding Graduate Student of the Baylor School of Social Work for 2002-2003.

Maxey Parrish, lecturer in journalism, was re-appointed to the boards of directors of the College Sports Information Directors of America and the Football Writers Association of America. He was awarded a fellowship to participate in the American Press Institute's seminar for journalism educators in Washington, D.C.

Theresa A. Posani, lecturer in nursing, was selected as chairperson for the medical-surgical clinical specialist content expert panel of the American Nurses' Credentialing Center.

Matthew Schobert, part-time lecturer in Baylor Interdisciplinary Core, was elected to the World Hunger Relief Inc. board of directors.

Dr. Lynn W. Tatum, associate director of the Middle East Studies Program and senior lecturer in Baylor Interdisciplinary Core and religion, was named to the American Association of University Professors nominating committee for national offices.

Dr. Richard E. Watts, associate professor of educational psychology, was appointed associate editor of the Journal of Counseling and Development.

A U.S. patent for "Tubulin Binding Ligands and Corresponding Prodrug Constructs" was issued July 15, assigned to Baylor University and licensed to Oxigene Inc. Co-inventors on the application included Dr. Kevin G. Pinney, associate professor of chemistry, Dr. Charles M. Garner, associate professor of chemistry, Dr. Vani P. Mocharla and Dr. Anjan Ghatak, postdoctoral research associates, Zhi Chen and James Dorsey.

Two Baylor staff members won awards at the Toastmasters International Area 45 speech competition Sept. 20 in Waco. Faron Kincheloe, analyst/programmer in Information Management and Testing, won first place in the Best Evaluator contest, and Gary Stokes, proposal writing specialist in University development, won first place in the Humorous Speaking contest.
Are you looking for more News?