Faculty/Staff News & Notes

Headshot of Dr. Chloe Honum

Dr. Chloe Honum, assistant professor of creative writing in the English department, has been selected as one of the two finalists for this year’s Alice Fay Di Castagnola Award from the Poetry Society of America. It’s for a manuscript in progress, and is considered to be among the most prestigious honors available to poets. The poems nominated are all from Dr. Honum’s new collection, The Lantern Room, forthcoming from Tupelo Press.

Headshot of Dr. Liela Romero

Dr. Liela Romero, an associate professor of chemistry who has joined the Baylor faculty this summer, has received a $2 million grant from the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT). The grant is given to young scientists in the early stages of their career to help them begin important cancer research.

Headshot of Jason Bushnell

Jason Bushnell, associate director of College of Arts & Sciences Advisement (CASA), received the Outstanding Academic Advisor Award for 2019-2020 at Baylor University.

Headshot of Dr. Kara Poe Alexander

Dr. Kara Poe Alexander, associate professor of English and director of the Baylor University Writing Center, has been appointed a member of the editorial team of the academic journal Literacy in Composition Studies. She has reviewed for the prestigious journal since 2013.

Headshot of Dr. Jennifer Good

In honor of her seven years of service to Baylor students as a Faculty-in-Residence living in campus residence halls, the Baylor & Beyond Living-Learning Center has created the Dr. Jennifer Good Leadership Award, to be awarded each year to a student leader who demonstrates values such as hospitality, dedication, service and care for others. Good, an associate professor of German, has served as Faculty-in-Residence at both Brooks Flats and North Russell Hall.

Headshot of Dr. DeAnna Toten Beard

Dr. DeAnna Toten Beard, professor and chair of theatre arts at Baylor, is the new vice president of the National Association of Schools of Theatre. After three years as VP, she'll become the president of this national organization for a three-year term.

Headshot of Dr. Sara Alexander, Dr. Scott Spings, Dr. Kenichi Hatakeyama and Dr. Howard Lee

Four Arts & Sciences faculty members are among those honored with Baylor Outstanding Faculty Awards for the 2019-2020 academic year. A&S winners include Dr. Sara Alexander, anthropology (tenured teaching), Dr. Scott Spinks, Spanish (non-tenure track teaching), Dr. Kenichi Hatakeyama, physics (scholarship) and Dr. Howard Lee, physics (non-tenured tenure track scholarship).

Dr. David Moseman, senior lecturer in religion, has been chosen by members of Baylor University’s senior class as the 2020 Collins Outstanding Professor.

Headshot of Dr. Joe Yelderman

Arts & Sciences faculty members Dr. Lisa Shaver, associate professor of English and director of gender studies, and Dr. Joe Yelderman, professor of geosciences, have been selected to receive 2020 Baylor Centennial Professor Awards for their respective research projects. Yelderman said he plans to use the award money to finance his research on droughts.


Last year, the College of Arts & Sciences established the Elizabeth Vardaman Award for Excellence in Mentoring Undergraduates –– in honor of the retired Arts & Sciences associate dean. Faculty members winning a “Betsy” for 2020 include: Dr. Dave Bridge (political science); John Cunningham (communication); Dr. Rebecca Flavin (political science); Dr. Kevin Pinney (chemistry and biochemistry); Dr. Pedro Reyes (management); Dr. Michael Scullin (psychology & neuroscience); and Dr. Michael Trakselis (chemistry and biochemistry).

Headshot of Dr. Ralphe West

Rev. Dr. Ralph West will serve as the Moore Visiting Professor of Religion at Baylor for the Fall 2020 semester. West serves as the founding pastor of Houston’s Brookhollow Baptist Church, known as The Church Without Walls and was named one of the 12 most effective preachers in the English-speaking world in 2018.