Faculty/Staff News & Notes

Faculty/Staff News & Notes

Dr. Susan P. Bratton

Dr. Susan P. Bratton, professor of environmental science, is the inaugural recipient of the new Elizabeth Vardaman Award for Excellence in Mentoring Undergraduates, presented annually to Arts & Sciences faculty who excel at helping undergraduate students learn outside the classroom. The awards are officially nicknamed “Betsys” after their namesake, Professor Elizabeth Vardaman, former associate dean for engaged learning in the College of Arts & Sciences, who retired in the spring of 2019 after 38 years at Baylor.

Outstanding Faculty Award Winners

Three Arts & Sciences faculty members are among those honored by Baylor University with Outstanding Faculty Awards. Dr. John Wood (left), The Robert A. Welch Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and CPRIT Scholar in Research, received the Tenured Scholarship Award; Dr. Lauren Poor (center), senior lecturer in history and director of the Arts & Sciences Core, received the Non-Tenure Track Teaching Award; and Dr. James SoRelle, professor and undergraduate program director of history, received the Tenured Teaching Award.

Dr. Sarah Ford

Dr. Sarah Ford, professor of English and coordinator of the Beall Poetry Festival, is one of two Baylor faculty members to be named a 2019 Centennial Professor. Created by Baylor’s Centennial Class of 1945, the Centennial Professor awards provide funding for tenured professors to enable them to do more in-depth research in their respective fields.

Dr. Bryan BrooksDr. Bryan Brooks, Distinguished Professor of Environmental Science and Biomedical Studies, was chosen as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, a professional association in the United Kingdom whose goal is to advance excellence in the chemical sciences. He also received Recipharm’s 2018 International Environmental Award, presented for the best environmental practice or innovation within the pharmacy and healthcare industries or academia.

Dr. George Cobb

Dr. George Cobb, professor and chair of environmental science, was elected as a Fellow of the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC) for his outstanding leadership and science. SETAC is a global professional society of individuals and institutions engaged in the study, analysis and solution of environmental problems, the management and regulation of natural resources, environmental education and research and development.

Dr. Amanda Hering

Dr. Amanda Hering, associate professor of statistics, won the 2019 Abdel El-Shaarawi Early Investigator’s Award from the International Environmetrics Society (TIES) for “significant and outstanding contributions to the environmental statistical and quantitative research as proved by the number and quality of publications in the statistical literature.”

Dr. Steven Forman

Dr. Steven Forman, professor of geosciences, received the 2019 Farouk El-Baz Desert Research Award from the Geological Society of America (GSA). The international award for research excellence is given each year for an outstanding body of work in the field of desert research.