The Gold and Bold

Gold and Bold

Join us as we celebrate our Baylor Alumni family and present several special awards.
Hosted by special guest and Baylor alumnus Robert Griffin III.

February 21, 2020

6:30 p.m. Reception
7:00 p.m. Dinner and Program
9:00 p.m. Dessert Reception

Paul and Jane Meyer Conference Center,
in the Paul L. Foster Campus for Business & Innovation

Parking is available in the Speight Parking Garage (1521 S. 4th Street).

Attire: Your Best Green and Gold (After-five attire)

What is the Honoring the Gold and Bold celebration?
A celebration of the Baylor Family, including Baylor alumni, parents and friends. As part of this new celebration, we will also recognize several outstanding alumni who have made a significant impact on Baylor.

2019-2020 Recipients

Alumni of the Year
The Alumni of the Year honor is awarded to a graduate or graduates who have demonstrated remarkable achievement in the previous year. This year’s Alumna of the Year is Kellie (Key) Fischer, who serves as executive vice president and chief financial officer of the Texas Rangers major-league baseball team. She earned a BBA in accounting from Baylor in 1995 and is a Texas CPA.

Young Alumni of the Year
The Young Alumni of the Year honor recognizes a graduate age 40 or under who has demonstrated remarkable achievement in the previous year. This year’s Young Alumnus of the Year is Max Muncy, a professional baseball player with the Los Angeles Dodgers. During his Baylor career, Muncy was a freshman All-American in 2010, led the Bears in most major offensive categories in 2011 and was drafted by the Oakland Athletics in 2012.

Pro Ecclesia Medal of Service
The Pro Ecclesia Medal of Service is awarded to individuals whose broad contributions to Christian ministry have made an immeasurable impact. Being recognized with the honor this year is Brenda (Rhame) Hauk, CEO and founder of BrightStone, a nonprofit based in Franklin, Tennessee, that provides services for adults living with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Hauk earned a BME in organ music in 1971 from Baylor, where she participated in A Capella Choir and the Kappa Theta (Tri Delta) sorority. She earned a master’s degree in special education from Vanderbilt University in 1992.

Pro Texana Medal of Service
The Pro Texana Medal of Service recognizes an individual whose contributions in furthering the mission of Baylor have made an immeasurable impact in the public or nonprofit sector. This year’s recipient is Kyle Deaver, who has served as mayor of Waco, Texas, since 2016. A third-generation Baylor graduate, Deaver earned a BBA in marketing from Baylor in 1986 and a JD from Baylor Law School in 1993.

To read full media release click here.