Women's Council

Women's Council

Baylor Alumni Network

Baylor University Women's Council of Houston

Founded in 1987

The purpose of this organization shall be the preservation and extension of bonds of friendship, furtherance of education and continuation of interest in Baylor University.


Baylor University Women's Council of Houston scholarships are presented each year at our Spring Luncheon/Annual Meeting. BUWC Houston has expanded its commitment to providing scholarships since its first scholarship was awarded in 1990. 

Membership Levels
  • New Graduate Membership (2019 graduates): Free
  • Mothers of 2019 Freshmen/Transfer Students: Free
  • Young Graduate Membership: (2008-2018 graduates): $35
  • Basic Membership: $45
  • Golden Membership: $100
    (fall event recognition)
  • Emerald Membership: $250
    (fall and spring event recognition)
  • Lamplighter Membership: $500
    (fall and spring event recognition)


The Baylor University Women's Council of Houston hosts a number of events throughout the year. Many of the events are smaller in nature and appeal to specific life stages or interests.

We encourage all of the BUWC Houston members and Baylor friends to join us at the annual fall and spring events each year. These events provide a wonderful opportunity to meet other women from the Houston community who represent a variety of life stages and demographics.

We also hold an Emerald Tea each year. The Emerald Tea is open to all Houston-area women who have graduated more than 25 years ago.


The Baylor University Women's Council of Houston is led by a board of women who are nominated and elected each year during the annual spring event.


2019-2020 Officers

President: Sarah Holloway
President-Elect: Martha Garrison
Past President: Lara Baker
Secretary: Kyrie Cameron Wallace
Treasurer: Heather Gray
VP Philanthropy: Maggie Garib
VP Membership: Liz Wilkinson
Assistant Membership: Julie Baird, Laurence Stewart
Parliamentarian/Patron Engagement: Misty Ellis
VP Programs: Evin Martinez
Fall Event Chairs: Natalie Weakly, Lara Baker
Spring Event Chairs: Jeanie Chandler, Lauren Waddell
Lunch & Learn Chair: Catrina Ballard
Social Media Chair: Jessa Pratt
Assistant Social Media Chair: Adrien Theriot
Mama Bears Chairs: Amy Dunk, Jessica Malzahn Strake
Young Grads Chairs: Lauren Jimmerson, Callie Trigg
Emerald Tea Chairs: Ann Brothers, Melissa Terrell
Directory Chair: Nicki Helsel
Advisors: Diane Deily, Robbie Page, Sally Reed, Debbie Bryant Smith
Senior Director of Alumni Engagement: Virginia Ellis