Remembering Kenneth W. Starr

Ken Starr

President, Baylor University 2010-2016

In September, Baylor University joined the Baylor Family in mourning the passing of Ken Starr who served as Baylor’s 14th President from 2010 to 2016. During his tenure at Baylor, Judge Starr also served on the faculty of Baylor Law School as The Louise L. Morrison Chair of Constitutional Law and nationally on the Board of Directors for the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU), the Independent Association of Baptist Colleges and Universities and the Southern University Conference. He also was a member
of the Board of Trustees for Baylor College of Medicine and Baylor Scott & White Health.

“Judge Starr was a dedicated public servant and ardent supporter of religious freedom
that allows faith-based institutions such as Baylor to flourish,” said Baylor President Linda A. Livingstone, Ph.D. “Ken and I served together as Deans at Pepperdine University in the 2000s, and I appreciated him as a Constitutional law scholar and a fellow academician who believed in the transformative power of higher education.

“Judge Starr had a profound impact on Baylor University, leading a collaborative visioning process to develop the Pro Futuris strategic vision in 2012 that placed Baylor on the path to where we are today as a Christian Research 1 institution,” President Livingstone said. “Our deepest sympathies and prayers remain with Alice Starr and her family as they mourn the loss of a husband, father and grandfather. May God’s peace and comfort continue to surround them and give them strength now, and in the days to come.”