National Leadership

Baylor President elected Chair of NCAA Board of Governors

National Leadership

One of the nation’s most respected voices in American higher education and for the role of faith-based universities, Baylor President Linda A. Livingstone, Ph.D., has been elected chair of the NCAA Board of Governors. 

“It is an honor to be chosen by the board to lead the group at such an important time in the history of college sports,” Livingstone said. “We are at a critical moment, with an opportunity to shape the Association and successfully navigate the transformation taking place across all three divisions. We are also undergoing a search for the next president of the NCAA. The work of this smaller board will be vital in determining our way forward.”

As the rare Division 1 student-athlete-turned-university-president, President Livingstone was appointed in June to the NCAA Board of Governors as one of just nine voting members — and one of only two Power 5 university presidents — helping lead college athletics during a season of fast-moving changes. She is the current vice chair of the Big 12 Conference Board of Directors, while preparing to assume the role of chair next year. She also was appointed as a member of the NCAA’s initial Constitution and Transformation committees.

In addition, she is chair-elect for the American Council on Education (ACE) board, which represents more than 1,700 colleges and universities on effective public policy and innovative, high-quality practice. She will become chair of the ACE board in March 2023.

Outgoing NCAA chair John J. DeGioia will still serve as a member of the Board of Governors. DeGioia, president at Georgetown, has been board chair since October 2020.

“I’d like to thank Jack DeGioia for his service to the board as chair during an unprecedented time,” NCAA President Mark Emmert said. “He steadily led his colleagues and the Association with a practical, reasonable approach to the issues. Undoubtedly, we will still benefit from his leadership as a board member.”

The new board includes nine voting members and seven nonvoting ex officio members. All three divisions are represented, including three of whom are graduated student-athletes.