Record-setting Student Scholars

Baylor students continue to shine as 14 were named Fulbright scholarship recipients for the 2021-22 academic year, the most in University history. This number is likely to place Baylor among the top producers of Fulbright scholars nationwide.

Additionally, two Baylor students received the prestigious David L. Boren Scholarship, presented by the National Security Education Program. It provides funding opportunities for U.S. undergraduate and graduate students who commit to studying less commonly taught languages that are critical to U.S. interests.

Another student became the first Baylor student since 2007 to receive the Truman Scholarship, which funds graduate studies, leadership training, career counseling, and special internship and fellowship opportunities within the U.S. federal government. For the fifth consecutive year, a Baylor student received a Goldwater Scholarship, which encourages students to pursue careers in STEM (science, technology, engineering, mathematics) fields. 

Two additional students received the U.S. Department of State Critical Language Scholarship, which expands the number of Americans studying and mastering foreign languages critical to national security and economic prosperity. Finally, a Baylor student was named one of 18 recipients of the Churchill Scholarship in mathematics, science and engineering, announced by the Winston Churchill Foundation of the United States.

Baylor Associate Dean for Engaged Learning Andrew P. Hogue, M.A. ’05, Ph.D. ’09, said this year’s success is further proof that Baylor is fulfilling its mission to educate students for worldwide leadership and service.

“We are proud to fling our green and gold afar by sending these remarkable Baylor Bears to all corners of the globe through prestigious programs like Fulbright, Truman, Churchill and others,” Hogue said. “It’s important to note that behind every one of these students, you will also find a group of dedicated faculty and staff who have believed in them, mentored them, taught them and served them. This is the hallmark of a Baylor education, and it’s highly unusual among our peers at Research 1 universities — world-class faculty producing at high levels while pouring heart and soul into helping their students flourish.”

Fulbright Scholars

English Teaching Assistants

Gloria Conatser

Gloria Conatser, B.S.Ed. ’22, secondary social studies; Waco (Germany)

Tashi Flaig

Tashi Flaig, B.A. ’18, language and linguistics; Waco (Colombia)

Ashlyn Freemyer

Ashlyn Freemyer, B.A. ’22, University Scholar; Woodway, Texas (Bulgaria)

Olivia Gorrell

Olivia Gorrell, B.Mus. ’22, applied music, German; Belton, Texas (Germany)

Courtney Haubert

Courtney Haubert, B.A. ’22, philosophy, psychology; Dublin, California (Bulgaria)

Preston Iha

Preston Iha, B.A. ’22, religion; Honolulu (Timor-Leste)

Andrew Kim

Andrew Kim, B.A. ’22, University Scholar; The Woodlands, Texas (Taiwan)

Raquel Nunez

Raquel Nunez, B.A. ’20, M.A. ’22, Spanish; Conroe, Texas (Brazil)

Saawan Patel

Saawan Patel, B.B.A. ’22, Baylor Business Fellow; Pasadena, Texas (Montenegro)

Gloria Smith

Gloria Smith, M.A. ’22, Spanish; Plano, Texas (Brazil)

Faith VanVleet

Faith VanVleet, B.A. ’22, University Scholar; The Woodlands, Texas (Ukraine)

Camille Watson

Camille Watson, B.A. ’22, University Scholar, Russian, professional writing and rhetoric; Kandern, Germany (Azerbaijan)


Research Awards

Nathan Rowan

Nathan Rowan, B.S. ’22, statistics, sociology; Phoenix (Denmark)

Alexandra Tyra

Alexandra Tyra, M.A. ’19, psychology doctoral candidate; Phoenix
(United Kingdom)

Churchill Scholar
Kate Rojales

Kate Rojales, B.S. ’22, chemistry; Milton, Georgia; pursue Master of Science in chemistry at the University of Cambridge

Goldwater Scholar
Arvind Muruganantham

Arvind Muruganantham, senior, biology; Fremont, California; pursue M.D./Ph.D. in stem cell biology

Truman Scholar
Veronica Bonifacio Penales

Veronica Bonifacio Penales, senior, international studies, professional writing and rhetoric; Shreveport, Louisiana; pursue a joint Juris Doctor and Master of
Public Policy

U.S. Department of State Critical Language Scholars
Mina Dwumfour-Poku

Mina Dwumfour-Poku,
B.S. ’22, biology; Sunnyvale, Texas; Swahili (Tanzania)

Uchechukwu Oguchi

Uchechukwu Oguchi, senior, University Scholar; The Woodlands, Texas; Arabic (Oman, virtual program)

Boren Scholars
José Arráiz-Rada

José Arráiz-Rada, senior, philosophy and international studies; Katy, Texas; Mandarin (Taiwan)

Madeline French

Madeline French, junior, University Scholar; language and linguistics; League City, Texas; Japanese (Japan)