Stephen R. Bates, BS ’81 of Salt Lake City and Rebecca L. Bates, MSEd ’86, of Mammoth Lakes, CA, established the Stephen Bates and Rebecca Bates Four Corners Endowed Scholarship, which supports Baylor students.

Smith A. Brownlie III, BBA ’81, of Fort Worth established the Frances Mary Brownlie Endowed Scholarship Fund in Accounting in honor of his mother Frances Mary Brownlie. The scholarship supports accounting students.

Roland Garcia, BBA ’81, was named to the 2022 edition of The Best Lawyers in America in the area of government relations practice. The Best Lawyers list is entirely based on peer review and designed to capture the consensus of leading lawyers in the same area and practice. Garcia was also recognized as a Texas Super Lawyer in business litigation.

Terry Cargill, BBA ’82, and Barbara Cargill, BSEd ’82, of Conroe, TX, established the Barbara and Terry Cargill Endowed Scholarship, which supports students enrolled in the School of Education.

Melody Howard Yuhn, BS ’83 of Fredericksburg, TX, established the Pay It Forward Endowed Scholarship, a Hord Challenge Scholarship, which supports students enrolled in the School of Engineering and Computer Science.

Stacy Edick, BA ’84, authored Charleston Conundrum [Wild Hawk Press, 2022] under the pen name Stacy Wilder. A cozy mystery, it is her first novel and the initial book in the Conundrum series. It is available on Amazon.

Jill Manning, BBA ’84, and Chris Manning, BBA ’84, of Dallas established the Christopher P. and Jill S. Manning Athletic Endowed Scholarship, which supports Baylor student-athletes.

C. Mark Wade, BBA ’84, authored God in the Everyday: A 14-Week Guide Toward Hope, Purpose, and Fulfillment [Choose Commitment Ministries, 2021], which was inspired by his faith journey. It is an easy-to-use, day-by-day, scripture-rich guide with practicality and a spiritual depth that reaches readers where God can most effectively change their lives: in their daily time with the Lord. Learn more at

Allin Means, BA ’86, is among 85 St. Louis-area educators to receive Emerson’s Excellence in Teaching awards. The awards recognize area educators — from kindergarten teachers to college professors — for their achievements and dedication to the education field and their vital role in shaping students’ lives. The annual Excellence in Teaching Awards program is sponsored by Emerson, a St. Louis-based diversified global manufacturer and technology leader.

Jeff Wooley, BBA ’86, and Debbie Wooley, BS ’87, of Woodway, TX, established the Wooley Family Endowed Scholarship in Truett Seminary for God’s glory and in honor of First Methodist Church Waco and the efforts of its lead pastor Rev. Ryan Barnett, ABC ’18. The scholarship supports Truett Seminary students.

Shelby Davidson, MPPA ’87, completed the Certificate in Biblical Counseling program at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary in Wake Forest, NC. He is currently the principal of Van [TX] Middle School and pastor of New Beginnings Community Church near Van.

Ellen Holman, BBA ’88, of Dallas established The Ellen L. Holman Endowed Scholarship Fund in Information Systems, which supports Baylor information systems majors.

Mark P. Yablon, BBA ’88, joined Houston-based Guerra | Days Law Group PLLC as a litigation attorney. He has a statewide practice focused on entrepreneurs dealing with civil litigation (plaintiffs and defendants), real estate, business/family law, bankruptcy and probate. Contact at markyablon@gmail.com.

Bill Baker, BBA ’89, MBA ’92, of Dallas established the Donna DuPuy Baker Endowed Scholarship in Economics in honor of his wife Donna DuPuy Baker, BBA ’88. The scholarship supports women in business at Baylor.