Douglas Herman, BA ’71, retired from his trial court judgeship in Fargo, ND. Herman and his wife Sarah moved to the family farm in rural North Dakota and hope to spend much of their time with their grandchildren. Contact at 3354 165th Ave. SE, Mapleton, ND 58059 or dherman704@gmail.com

Brandon C. Janes, BBA ’72, was included in the 2021 edition of The Best Lawyers in America.

Kenneth Stohner, BBA ’72, JD ’75, was included in the 2021 edition of The Best Lawyers in America.

Slayden Yarbrough, PhD ’72, and wife Janis are retired in Vancouver, WA. He taught for 29 years at Southwest Baptist University and Oklahoma Baptist University. He also served two years as the last executive director of the Historical Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention. Yarbrough continues serving as pulpit supply, interim pastor and teacher of American Baptist Polity and History in the American Baptist Convention. He recently published I Am ... Storytelling in Worship, a compilation of six monologue presentations and three dramatic readings for use by worship leaders and general enjoyment for all readers. The book is available in paperback and eBook through Amazon and Barnes & Noble. Slayden can be contacted at slaydena@gmail.com.

The Gary and Barbara Grisham Endowed Scholarship Fund was established by Gary Grisham and Barbara Grisham, BA ’73, of Weaverville, NC. This endowed scholarship supports students enrolled in the School of Engineering and Computer Science.

Susan White, BA ’73, retired in July after 33 years with Southern Methodist University, where she wrote for and edited the alumni magazine and other publications for the office of marketing and communications. While at SMU, she earned a Master of Liberal Arts in 2005. White previously used her journalism degree while working on various newspapers in Texas, New Mexico and Chicago. She lives in the Dallas area, close to her children and two beautiful grandchildren.

Kirby Warnock, BA ’74, was part of a team that erected We Are Music & Music is Us, a sculpture paying tribute to musicians Stevie Ray and Jimmie Vaughan, at Kiest Park in Dallas, near where the musicians grew up in Oak Cliff. An Oct. 3, 2020, ceremony was planned to dedicate the artwork; however, due to COVID-19 restrictions, the City of Dallas put together a video detailing the story behind the sculpture and what it means for the city. Warnock is the former editor of Buddy, a music magazine serving the North Texas and Northeast Texas regions, and he provides some commentary on the video. A dedication ceremony is tentatively scheduled for March 20 — Jimmie’s 70th birthday.

Keith Bruce, BA ’75, and Janet Bruce, BS ’76, created the Keith and Janet Bruce Endowed Scholarship Fund in Truett Seminary. This scholarship provides awards for Truett students enrolled at the San Antonio extension campus.

Evelyn Duffy, BS ’75, has been on faculty at Case Western Reserve University, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, since 1989. She was promoted to full professor last summer and recently was appointed to the Florence Cellar Professorship in Gerontological Nursing. In addition to her academic role, Duffy provides primary care to adults and older adults in an underserved area of Cleveland. Mark, her husband of 44 years, is a lighting standards consultant. They have three adult children. Contact at Evelyn.duffy@case.edu.

The Brigadier General Jan “Denny” Eakle Endowed Scholarship Fund in Truett Seminary was established by U.S. Air Force Brig. Gen. Jan D. Eakle, BS ’75, MS ’76, of Chambersburg, PA. This scholarship supports Truett students who are pursuing a career as a military chaplain.

Marilea Whatley Lewis, BA ’75, was recognized by her peers for inclusion in the 2021 edition of The Best Lawyers in America for family law, mediation and family law mediation. Lewis presented to the Tarrant County summer interns through the Tarrant County Criminal Courts last June, and she co-chaired the 2020 State Bar of Texas Firearms Conference in September. Contact at 4311 Oak Lawn Ave., Suite 600, Dallas, TX 75219 or marilea@d-elaw.com.

Lisa Springer, BS ’75, and her forever friends were roommates several years, living in Collins Hall as freshmen in 1971. Springer writes: “We gathered in Ruidoso, NM, for our latest reunion in September, sharing many memories with much laughter. Four of us met our husbands as undergraduates.” Joining Springer at the reunion were Jill Graham Boyles, BA ’74, David Boyles, BS ’75, Carol Kerr Neilson, BA ’75, Bill Neilson, BA ’76, Libba Sandusky Davis, BS ’75, Dick Davis, Gayle Ekrut Manskey, BA ’75, Bob Manskey, Lisa Lambert Springer, BS ’75, and Arthur Springer.

Dr. Pattricia S. Klarr, BS ’77, was named director of anesthesiology at the University of Michigan Kellogg Eye Center.