2020 Baylor Hall of Fame

2020 Baylor Hall of Fame

A pair of No. 2 overall NFL Draft selections and a quartet of three-time All-Americans highlight the list of Baylor Athletics Hall of Fame 2020 inductees. The eight-member class, which represents six sports, will be inducted this fall.

This year’s class consists of three former Baylor Football student-athletes: Brad Goebel (1987-90), Andrew Melontree (1978-79) and Jason Smith (2004-08). Others in the class are Anna Breyfogle (volleyball, 2006-09), Lenka Broosova (women’s tennis, 2006-10), Todd Cooper (men’s track and field, 1982-84), Lars Poerschke (men’s tennis, 2004-08) and Brette Reagan (softball, 2006-09).

Additionally, former football student-athlete Dr. Michael Attas III was named to the “B” Association Wall of Honor. He is the retired chief of cardiology at Hillcrest Baptist Medical Center and founded Baylor’s medical humanities program. Attas, BA ’69, was a 2016 Baylor Medal of Service recipient. He is the 29th member of the Wall of Honor.

Breyfogle, BA ’10, was the volleyball program’s first All-American, earning honorable mention honors in 2009 along with teammate Taylor Barnes. She was a two-time All-Big 12 selection and earned Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year honors as a senior in 2009, when she led the Bears to an upset of ninth-ranked UCLA and the program’s first Sweet 16 appearance in the NCAA Tournament. Breyfogle was a two-time all-region and three-time Academic All-Big 12 honoree.

Broosova, BA ’10, was a three-time All-American in doubles and two-time All-American in singles. She led the Bears to four straight Big 12 regular-season and tournament titles, earning Big 12 Player of the Year honors in 2010. A member of Baylor’s first NCAA national semifinals appearance in 2008, Broosova is the program’s all-time career wins leader in singles (165) and doubles (120). She carded a program-record 52 singles wins in 2008 and was a four-time All-Big 12 selection.

Cooper, BSEd ’86, was a three-time All-American and four-time Southwest Conference champion pole vaulter. He was the 1985 NCAA Outdoor champion and he placed fifth at the 1984 NCAA Indoor Championships and third at the 1985 national indoor meet. He joined David Hodge and Mike Shafe to become the first vaulting trio to clear 18 feet in the same NCAA meet in 1985. Cooper has coached vaulting for more than 20 years as director of the Just Vault program in Missouri.

Goebel, BBA ’91, earned consensus All-SWC honors in 1987 after leading the league with 2,178 yards and 12 touchdowns passing, both of which still stand as Baylor freshman records. He was a three-year starter for the Bears before sustaining an injury as a senior. Goebel passed for 5,026 yards in his career, which was second in program history at the time and currently ranks 10th. He played five seasons in the NFL and started two games a rookie for the Philadelphia Eagles in 1991.

Melontree, ’80, joined Baylor’s football team after earning honorable mention All-America honors at Tyler [Texas] Junior College. “Tree” was a consensus All-Southwest Conference selection as a senior in 1979 and was named Peach Bowl Defensive MVP in Baylor’s win over Clemson University. Named to Baylor’s 1970s All-Decade Team, He was a sixth-round selection of the Cincinnati Bengals in the 1980 NFL Draft and played with three teams in the United States Football League (USFL).

Poerschke, BBA ’11, a three-time NCAA All-American in singles, ranks second in program history with 221 combined singles and doubles wins. He earned Big 12 Freshman and ITA Regional Rookie of the Year honors in 2005 for a Baylor squad that lost to UCLA in the NCAA finals. Poerschke, who reached the No. 1 national ranking as a sophomore in 2006, was Big 12 Player of the Year as a junior and the ITA Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship and Leadership Award winner as a senior.

Reagan, BSEd ’09, was a three-time All-America selection as a power-hitting, slick-fielding third baseman. Her career numbers remain among the best in program history, ranking first in walks (133) and third in home runs (41) and RBI (156). Reagan keyed Baylor’s 2007 team that claimed the Big 12 title and made the program’s first NCAA Women’s College World Series appearance. She was a three-time all-region and first-team All-Big 12 selection.

Smith, BSEd ’08, started eight games at tight end as a redshirt freshman in 2005 before starting 30 games at offensive tackle over the next three seasons. He earned All-Big 12 and consensus All-America honors as a senior. Smith was selected second overall in the 2009 NFL Draft by the St. Louis Rams — Baylor’s first first-round pick in 13 years. He signed the now eighth-largest rookie contract in NFL history and played parts of three seasons with the Rams before ending his career with the New York Jets in 2012.