Hans Brattskar, MIM ’80, Norway’s Ambassador to the United Nations, has been elected president of the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention, an international effort that seeks to ban the use, stockpiling, production and transfer of explosive devices. Brattskar is serving a one-year term with the Convention, which consists of 164 member countries. In December, he made his first visit as APMBC president to observe the clearance of mines in Thailand and Cambodia. Contact at hansbrattskar@yahoo.com.

Balfour Publishing recently awarded sales representative Lisa Lowry Schwartz, BA ’80, its Bill Taylor Lifetime Achievement Award. She is the first woman to receive this honor. Lisa is co-owner of the Houston/European Office of Balfour Yearbooks. Contact at 13303 Pebblebrook Dr., Houston, TX 77079 or lisaleeschwartz@comcast.net.

Jeff Hampton, BA ’81, of Garland, TX, published Aransas Evening, a novel set in Port Aransas, TX, about acquaintances who become family and help heal each other’s lives. It is a sequel to Aransas Morning. Proceeds from sales benefit rebuilding efforts on the Texas Coast. More info at www.jeffhamptonwriter.biz/news.

Dabney Bassel, JD ’82, was appointed by Texas Gov. Greg Abbott to the Second Court of Appeals. Bassel is an attorney in private practice in Fort Worth and is board certified in Civil Appellate Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.

Judge John Neill, BA ’82, of Burleson, TX, was named by Texas Gov. Greg Abbott to replace Justice Al Scoggins on Waco’s 10th Court of Appeals. Neill served the past 20 years as judge of the 18th Judicial District Court in Johnson and Somervell Counties.

The 13th annual Kim Orlando Invitational golf tournament was held Oct. 20, 2018, in Waco. The event was attended by 36 active and alumni members of Sigma Phi Epsilon and honored LTC Kim S. Orlando, BA ’82. As the commanding officer of the 716th Military Police Battalion attached to the 101st Airborne Division, Orlando was killed Oct. 16, 2003, in action in Karbala, Iraq. Since its inception, the men of the Texas Rho Chapter have raised more than $48,000 to support the Fort Campbell [KY] Fisher House.

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott appointed Judge Dana Womack, BA ’82, JD ’83, of Fort Worth to the Second Court of Appeals for a term set to expire on Dec. 31, 2020. Judge Womack is a senior district judge and previously served as judge of the 348th Judicial District Court for 20 years.

Dr. Dennis Disch, BBA ’84, is a new cardiologist on staff at Spectrum Health Lakeland in Grand Rapids, MI. Disch diagnoses and treats conditions involving the cardiac system including heart failure, atrial fibrillation, high blood pressure and coronary heart disease.

Dr. Kathy “Kat” Stewart Schwaig, BBA ’84, MBA ’86, is now provost and vice president for academic affairs at Kennesaw State University in Georgia. She is responsible for all aspects of the University’s academic mission. Schwaig, the Dinos Eminent Scholar Chair of Entrepreneurial Management and professor of information systems, served as the dean of KSU’s Michael J. Coles College of Business since 2012. Schwaig joined the faculty at KSU in 2002. 

Dr. Roy Smythe, BS ’84, is now CEO for SomaLogic Inc., an executive search firm for life sciences and diagnostic companies in North America. Smythe, based in Boulder, CO, is responsible for developing, scaling, commercializing and funding for the company.

Keary Castleberry, BBA ’85, is now a senior partner and managing director at Snowden Lane Partners, a boutique investment firm in New York City. He lives with his family in San Antonio, where for 24 years he has served high net-worth clients and corporations through his advisory practice. He played basketball at Baylor (1980-84). Contact at 208 Sunway Dr., San Antonio, TX 78232 or kcastleberry@snowdenlane.com.

William Johnston, MBA ’85, is chief financial officer and assistant superintendent of business services for the Red Oak [TX] School District. Johnston, originally from Victoria, TX, relocated from Round Lake, IL, where he served as CFO and assistant superintendent of business for Round Lake area schools.

Dr. Woodson “Scott” Jones, BA ’86, transitioned after 27 years of service to the military in medicine and higher education (including being a professor in the Baylor Graduate School) to become vice dean of Graduate Medical Education and Professor of Pediatrics at the Long School of Medicine, University of Texas Health San Antonio.

Stephanie Young, BBA ’86, was appointed managing director of Hong Kong Disneyland Resort by Disney Parks, Experiences and Consumer Products, effective Feb. 1. Young has a distinguished 26-year career with The Walt Disney Company, holding leadership positions across the areas of operations, business, finance and information technology.

Kent Penney, BBA ’87, was appointed planning department manager for KLJ in Rapid City, SD. KLJ is a multi-disciplinary firm serving in states in the Great Plains, Midwest and Mountain regions. Previously, Penney was an airport director for airports in Nebraska, Arkansas and Texas. Kent and his wife live in the Rapid City area, where their back yard is the Black Hills National Forest. He can be contacted at kent.penney@kljeng.com.

James Springfield, BBA ’87, was appointed CEO of Nobilis Health Corp. in Houston. He spent 13 years with the Memorial Hermann Health Care System in various leadership positions, including chief operating officer of Hermann Hospital, the 900-bed flagship of the multi-hospital system, and CEO of the Hermann Children’s Hospital.

Dr. Brent Beasley, BS ’88, of Tulsa, OK, is medical director for the internal medicine practice and a professor within the OU-TU School of Community Medicine, a branch of the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine at the Schusterman Center in Tulsa. He was profiled in the Tulsa World after becoming an avid proponent of a low-fat, whole-food, plant-based diet after his wife battled a rare lung disease and breast cancer.

Dr. Amanda Lee, BA ’88, MA ’90, was named president of Bladen Community College in Elizabethtown, NC. Lee was most recently chief of staff and vice president of academic affairs at Union College in Barbourville, KY. She also has been the president of Cape Fear Community College in Wilmington, NC.

Stephen C. Raffaele, BBA ’88, was named CEO of American Bank, based in Corpus Christi, TX. He will continue as American Bank’s president. Raffaele has been in the banking industry for more than three decades, holding various executive positions with banking organizations throughout Texas.

Don W. Allen, BBA ’89, joined the Orlando, FL, office as a partner in the business law firm of Kelley Kronenberg. Allen has nearly three decades of experience handling workers’ compensation issues in Florida courts. He is admitted to practice law in Florida, the Florida Supreme Court, the U.S. District Court Middle District of Florida and the U.S. Supreme Court.

Janette Baldwin, JD ’89, and Garrett Beach, JD ’16, were honored as the Baylor Law Veterans Clinic Advocates of the Year for 2018 at the Waco-McLennan County Bar Association luncheon Nov. 9. Baldwin and Beach are among the most dedicated volunteer attorneys at the free legal advice clinics for veterans and their spouses at the Heart of Texas Veterans One Stop.

Julie Overton, BA ’89, JD ’90, and Robert Overton, BBA ’86, opened a shop in the Milo All Day restaurant complex at 1020 Franklin Ave. in Waco, where they sell decor from the Round Top Collection, which had its beginning 28 years ago in the Hill Country community of the same name. 

Rev. Gregory “Scott” Terry, BA ’89, retired from the International Mission Board of the Southern Baptist Convention (1994-2015). He serves as associate pastor of Round Oak Baptist Church in Woodford, VA. His daughter Jasmine is part of the Baylor Class of 2022. Contact at P.O. Box 159, Corbin, VA 22446 or pastorscott@roundoakchurch.com.