Tommy Bowman, BBA ’71, a standout basketball student-athlete at Baylor and a member of the University’s Board of Regents from 2001 to 2010, was selected for the 2019 class of the Southwest Conference Hall of Fame. Bowman was the first black basketball recruit at Baylor in 1966 and one of the SWC’s first black players.

John Strybos, BM ’71, earned degrees from The University of Central Oklahoma and Manhattan School of Music after Baylor. He lived in Texas and Oklahoma before moving to the New York City area in 1984. In August 2017, he retired as organist and choirmaster at The Church of St. Joseph in Bronxville, NY. Since retiring, he serves as organist and music director at First Congregational Church in Norwalk, CT, and teaches private piano lessons. Contact at 500 Glenbrook Road #15-Cm Stamford, CT 06902 or JPStrybos@aol.com.

Suzii Paynter, BA ’72, who has led the Cooperative Baptist Fellowship (CBF) for five years as the organization’s executive coordinator, is retiring from her role. In 2013, Paynter became the third Texan and first woman to serve as CBF executive coordinator. She led CFB in a $12.5 million fund-raising campaign and oversaw a restructure of CBF Global Missions.

Roger W. Anderson, BA ’73, JD ’78, and Margaret D. McClain, BA ’73, were married May 18, 2017. Contact at randerson@freemanmillspc.com, mmweed50@yahoo.com or 2828 Hood St. #1605, Dallas, TX 75219.

Judge Sidney A. Fitzwater, BA ’75, JD ’76, was recognized with the prestigious 2018 American Inns of Court Professionalism Award for the Fifth Circuit. A U.S. District Judge and former chief judge for the Northern District of Texas, Fitzwater was nominated to the federal bench by President Ronald Reagan in 1986 at 32, making him the youngest U.S. federal judge at that time.

Maria Cribbs Owens, BA ’75, and husband Tom moved from Washington, DC, to Falcons Landing Retirement Community in Potomac Falls, VA. She continues to do consulting work and remains engaged with friends and family in DC. She would love to connect with Baylor friends. Contact at 46916 Grissom St., Potomac Falls, VA 20165 or micowens@comcast.net.

Diane Dillard, BA ’76, JD ’79, was appointed to the Texas Board of Legal Specialization, where she works with board members in overseeing the administration of the Board Certification program.

Benjamin Harlan, BM ’76, MM ’79, received the Exemplary Service in Christian Music Award at the 17th annual Alleluia Conference at Baylor University. He is director of music at University Baptist Church in Baton Rouge, LA. Harlan has served on the faculty of New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary and as dean of the School of Church Music at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary.

Mary Stowe, BSN ’76, was featured in the June issue of D CEO magazine. She is chief nursing officer for Children’s Medical Center in Dallas. 

Chaplain Jerry M. Thomas, BA ’78, retired as chaplain manager of Memorial Hermann Katy Hospital in May after serving the Memorial Hermann Healthcare System Houston for 22 years. Contact at 35725 Royal Road, Brookshire, TX 77423 or 1995chaplain@gmail.com.

Max Underwood, BBA ’78, MBA ’04, vice president of finance at Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, was named 2018 Airport Finance Professional of the Year by the Airports Council International - North America. Underwood and his wife Debbie Drumwright Underwood, BA ’81, MS ’82, reside in Colleyville, TX.

CAPT Lynn Wheeler, BS ’79, retired from the U.S. Navy after 29 years of service and celebrated her retirement with family and friends from around the world. After teaching and coaching in Texas, Wheeler earned a master’s degree from the University of Oklahoma, began a career in healthcare and was recruited to the Navy’s Medical Service Corp in 1989. During her career, she served in Cherry Point, NC; Okinawa, Japan; San Diego, CA; Millington, TN; Pensacola, FL; Naples, Italy; and Pearl Harbor, HI. Over the past eight years, she served as Deputy Surgeon, U.S. Pacific Fleet, Pearl Harbor; Executive Officer on the hospital ship, USNS Mercy; and closed her military career as Commanding Officer, Naval Health Clinic Hawai`i.