Tennis Teams Again Reach NCAA Championships in 2017

Baylor Men's Tennis

Baylor’s highly decorated men’s and women’s tennis teams continued their lengthy run of postseason appearances in 2017 under head coaches Matt Knoll and Joey Scrivano, respectively.

The Baylor men earned an NCAA Championships berth for a 20th consecutive season, while the women reached the tournament for the 13th straight year. Both programs saw players reach individual championships in Athens, Georgia.

Men’s tennis advanced to the round of 16 in Athens and concluded the season with a 23-8 record. Sophomores Juan Benitez and Will Little reached the NCAA Doubles Championships quarterfinals, while three players — Benitez, sophomore Johannes Schretter and senior Max Tchoutakian — participated in the NCAA Singles Championships.

Baylor Women's Tennis

Women’s tennis reached the second round of the NCAA Championships and finished with a 22-7 record. Senior Blair Shankle, Big 12 Scholar-Athlete of the year in women’s tennis and winner of the Intercollegiate Tennis Assocation Most Improved Senior Award, reached the round of 16 in the NCAA Singles Championships. For advancing to the quarterfinals, she earned All-America honors.

For the 12th time in 15 years, Baylor served as a host site for NCAA Championships postseason action with first and second rounds at the Hurd Tennis Center and Hawkins Indoor Tennis Center this year.