Coleman wins Biletnikoff Award as nation's top receiver

Baylor's Corey Coleman was named winner of the 2015 Fred Biletnikoff Award, given annually to the nation's top collegiate receiver by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation. Coleman is the first Baylor player to earn the award, which was first presented in 1994.

A fourth-year junior from Richardson, Texas, Coleman led the nation with 74 receptions and 20 touchdowns, ranking third nationally with 1,373 yards, at the conclusion of the regular season. He established Baylor season and career (33) records for touchdown receptions during the 2015 season. Coleman's season touchdown total ranked ninth in NCAA history and third in Big 12 history.

Coleman was a 2015 first-team All-America and All-Big 12 selection. He enjoyed a stretch of seven consecutive games with multiple touchdown receptions, a Big 12 record. He also led the nation with 20 receptions of at least 30 yards.

The Biletnikoff Award is named for College Football Hall of Famer Fred Biletnikoff, who was an All-American at Florida State before a lengthy NFL career. Previous winners include NFL greats Randy Moss (Marshall, 1997), Larry Fitzgerald (Pittsburgh, 2003) and Calvin Johnson (Georgia Tech, 2006).

Coleman is the third Big 12 player to earn the award. Texas Tech's Michael Crabtree was so honored in 2006 and 2007, while Oklahoma State's Justin Blackmon was the recipient in 2010 and 2011; they are the only players to win the award twice. Coleman, who has declared for 2016 NFL Draft, was chosen over TCU's Josh Doctson and Mississippi's Laquon Treadwell.

Additionally, Coleman and senior offensive tackle Spencer Drango were unanimous consensus All-America selections. A player is deemed consensus if he is chosen by at least three of the five major All-America teams--the American Football Coaches Assocation (AFCA), the Associated Press, the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), The Sporting News and the Walter Camp Football Foundation. Coleman and Drango appeared on all five teams. Baylor and Alabama were the only programs to produce multiple unanimous All-Americans, each producing two of the 12 unanimous selections. Baylor junior defensive tackle Andrew Billings, who also declared for the NFL Draft, earned All-America honors from the AP, ESPN and Athlon.