Sports Briefs

June 28, 2013

Cowboys draft Baylor receiver

Unanimous All-American wide receiver Terrance Williams, BA '12, was taken with the 74th overall selection by the Dallas Cowboys in the third round of the 2013 NFL Draft, the 14th Baylor player drafted in the last five years under head coach Art Briles.

Williams led the nation in receiving yards (1,832 on 97 receptions) in his last season at Baylor; that total ranked seventh all-time in NCAA history. He owns or shares eight school receiving records and ranks second in career receptions, yards and touchdowns to current Tennessee Titan Kendall Wright.

10th Bear elected to College Football Hall of Fame

Former Baylor quarterback Don Trull, BA '64, was among 14 players and coaches elected to the 2013 College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision Class in May.

Trull quarterbacked the Bears from 1961-63, earning first-team All-America honors and finishing fourth in the Heisman Trophy voting as a senior after leading the nation in touchdowns and passing yards. He went on to enjoy an eight-year professional career with the AFL's Houston Oilers and Boston Patriots and the CFL's Edmonton Eskimos.

Trull is the 10th Bear to earn induction, joining former Baylor head coaches Morley Jennings and Grant Teaff, and players Barton Koch, Bill Glass, BA '57, James Ray Smith, BBA '83, Lawrence Elkins,
BS '66, Mike Singletary, BBA '83, Hayden Fry, BA '51, and Thomas Everett, BS '93.

2012-13 highlights include five Big 12 titles, three Sweet 16s

A year after the record-setting "Year of the Bear," Baylor athletics continued its run of excellence as 17 out of 19 varsity programs reached the postseason in 2012-13.

Highlights included Baylor football's Holiday Bowl victory, men's basketball's NIT title and Sweet 16 appearances for women's basketball, men's tennis and soccer. Baylor claimed five Big 12 titles, winning the regular season in women's basketball, men's tennis and women's tennis, and the postseason tournament in women's basketball and soccer.

Individual honors included women's hoops' consensus Big 12 and national player of the year Brittney Griner, Big 12 women's tennis player of the year Ema Burgic, and Big 12 Coach of the Year honors for Kim Mulkey (women's basketball) and Joey Scrivano (women's tennis). Freshman women's golfer Lauren Taylor also won the Big 12 individual title in April.

Are you looking for more News?