Conference Realignment Drama Plays Out Over Summer As Baylor Nation Rallies Support For Baylor

October 6, 2010
Reports surfaced during the first week of June -- just as President Ken Starr took office and the previous issue of Baylor Magazine went to press -- that the Big 12 Conference was on the verge of losing several member institutions and perhaps even dissolving completely as the Pacific-10 Conference and others hoped to draw away schools in order to form mega-conferences. Baylor Regents, President Starr and members of Baylor's administration, including Director of Athletics Ian McCaw, spent the next few weeks working tirelessly with others who rose up to keep the league together.

As the dust settled, the Big 12 remained a powerhouse conference in collegiate athletics, retaining 10 of its original 12 members: Baylor, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, Missouri, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas, Texas Tech and Texas A&M. Colorado is headed to the Pac-10, and Nebraska is slated to join the Big 10 Conference.

In the heat of the discussions, the Baylor family mobilized and became Baylor Nation, with its members taking action when and where needed on behalf of the university. On the next pages, we take a look at just a few of the ways Bears stepped up during those frantic two weeks.

Are you looking for more News?