Great Teaching

June 23, 2005
As the 2004 Cherry Award recipient, Eleonore Stump of Saint Louis University, completed her semester in residence this spring at Baylor, the finalists for the 2006 Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching were named.
They are Anton E. Armstrong, Tosdal Professor of Music at St. Olaf College; Robert W. Brown, Institute Professor of Physics at Case Western Reserve University; and William R. Cook, Distinguished Teaching Professor of History at State University of New York at Geneseo.
The recipient, who will be announced next spring, will receive $200,000 plus $25,000 for his home university's academic department and will teach in residence at Baylor during the fall 2006 or spring 2007 semester.
Armstrong is conductor of the famed St. Olaf's Choir, which has recorded 11 CDs during his tenure. Known for his work with youth and children's choirs, Armstrong has guest conducted and lectured throughout the world.
Brown is the recipient of numerous awards for excellent teaching. He has written more than 150 publications and abstracts, including a well-known textbook in the field of MRI physics, and he holds six patents. His diverse areas of research include MRI, rf thermal ablation and heat equation dynamics, to name a few.
Cook, a medieval history scholar, has focused much of his research on St. Francis of Assisi. He has authored numerous articles and books and has been featured on a Learning Channel documentary on Danté and a Hallmark documentary on St. Francis. He has received numerous state and institutional awards for outstanding teaching.
Stump, the Robert J. Henle Professor of Philosophy at Saint Louis University, taught in residence at Baylor during the spring semester. She delivered a lecture titled "The Holocaust and Aquinas' Theory of the Stain on the Soul," in April in conjunction with the Institute for Faith and Learning and Traditio, a new independent, interdisciplinary theological society at Baylor.
The Cherry Award was established by Foster, AB '29, JD '33, to honor great teaching and to stimulate discussion of its importance in academia. The first award was bestowed in 1991 and has been given biennially since.
Are you looking for more News?