Two Named Master Teachers

December 9, 2003

For the first time in 10 years, two faculty members have been designated as Master Teachers, the highest honor bestowed at Baylor. They are F. Ray Wilson II, professor of biology, and the late Helen H. Ligon, emeritus professor of information systems (see When Life Overflows).

Baylor recognized Wilson and members of Ligon's family, as well as the University's 14 designated Master Teachers, at the intermission of Pigskin Revue performances during Homecoming week.

The 2003 Master Teacher designations are the first during the eight-year presidency of Robert B. Sloan Jr. The last appointment was made in June 1993.

"It is a rare honor at Baylor and only bestowed on those professors who have made a profound impact in the classroom and on students' lives," Sloan said. "Ray Wilson and Helen Ligon represent those characteristics in very tangible ways. During Helen Ligon's memorial service in August, it was very evident how many students she touched during her 45-year teaching career, as Baylor alums spoke of being 'richly blessed' by just having the privilege to know her. Since 1973, Wilson has mentored hundreds of students who have pursued graduate degrees in the sciences. They truly represent the best of all that Baylor is."

The Master Teachers:
  • Robert L. Reid
  • Ann V. Miller
  • Emerson O. Henke
  • Angus S. McSwain Jr.
  • Robert G. Packard
  • James W. Parsons
  • Robert M. Baird
  • Jochem F. Burckhardt
  • Tommye Lou Davis
  • David W. Guinn
  • Roger E. Kirk
  • Harold W. Osborne
  • David E. Pennington
  • James W. Vardaman
    Are you looking for more News?