About Air Force ROTC


Air Force ROTC stands for Reserve Officers Training Corps. It is a college program offered at over 1000 colleges and universities across the U.S. that prepares young Americans to become officers in the United States Air Force. Air Force ROTC is one of three commissioning sources for the United States Air Force that also includes the US Air Force Academy and Air Force Officer Training School. Our mission at Air Force ROTC is to Produce Leaders For The Air Force.

AFROTC has been a part of the Air Force since its creation on September 18, 1947. Only 10 months later, in July 1948, the Air Force and Baylor University partnered in the creation of Air Force ROTC Detachment 810.

In 2008, Detachment 810 was awarded the Air Force ROTC Right Of Line Award as the #1 large detachment in the nation! In addition we were awarded the High Flight Award recognizing us as one of the top four detachments in America, and the best in the AFROTC Southwest Region for 1996, 2003, and 2008.

To be a part of Detachment 810's Cadet Wing, students enrolled at Baylor, University of Mary Hardin Baylor, Texas Tech University at Waco, or McLennan Community College would register for the Aerospace Studies Courses.