Parchman Endowed Lectures

Parchman Endowed Lectures

Reverend Fleming Rutledge
By the Word Worked: the Unique Power of Biblical Preaching
September 17-18, 2019 Paul Powell Chapel | Truett Seminary
Featuring Rev. Fleming Rutledge Reverend Fleming Rutledge
Preacher, Lecturer, and Teacher

The Rev. Fleming Rutledge, one of the first women to be ordained to the priesthood of the Episcopal Church, is well known in the United States, Canada, and the UK as a lecturer, preacher, and teacher of other preachers. Her published sermon collections have met with wide acclaim. The most recent such collection is Advent: The Once and Future Coming of Jesus Christ. Her major work, which took twenty years to write, is The Crucifixion: Understanding the Death of Jesus Christ, named Best Book of 2016 by Christianity Today.

Mrs. Rutledge, a native of Virginia, matriculated at General Theological Seminary and received her Master of Divinity degree from Union Theological Seminary in New York in 1975. She spent twenty years in parish ministry in New York City and its environs. She and her husband, Reginald E. (Dick) Rutledge, a retired marketing consultant, celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary this year. They have two daughters and two adult grandchildren.

Schedule of Events Tuesday, September 17
11am The Value of Postmodern Biblical Interpretation
4pm The Life of the Sermon
Wednesday, September 18
11am Endings: Apocalyptic Theology for Preachers
About The Parchman Endowed Lectures bring world-renowned theologians to the Baylor campus and enable George W. Truett Theological Seminary to make a significant contribution to the realm of theological dialogue and the life of the church. All events are free and open to the public and will be held in the Paul W. Powell Chapel at Baylor University's George W. Truett Theological Seminary.
Previous presenters include:
  • James K.A. Smith (2018-2019)
  • Robert Kolb (2017-2018)
  • Margaret Mitchell (2016-2017)
  • Alister McGrath (2015-2016)
  • Dana Robert (2014-15)
  • Richard Mouw (2013-14)
  • Geoffrey Wainwright (2012-13)
  • Scot McKnight (2011-12)
  • Richard Bauckham (2010-11)
  • Lamin Sanneh (2009-10)
  • Bill Leonard (2008-09)
  • Ben Witherington III (2007-08)
  • Justo Gonzalez (2006-07)
  • Eugene Peterson (2005-06)
  • James Forbes (2004-05)
  • Walter Brueggemann (2003-04)
  • John Polkinghorne (2002-03)
  • N.T. Wright (2001-02)
  • Lewis B. Smedes (2000-01)
  • Jurgen Moltmann (1999-00)
Media You can watch or listen to our previous guests at the Parchman Lectures Media Library.

George W. Truett Theological Seminary