This past week, the Baylor University Model Organization of American States (MOAS) team participated in the 41st Washington, D.C. Model. Thirty-three teams from the United States, Canada, Mexico, Guatemala, Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador, and Argentina met at the Headquarters of the Organization of American States (OAS) to debate resolutions and resolve critical problems in the hemisphere. The Baylor team represented the Dominican Republic and was fortunate to have visited with His Excellency Ambassador Roberto B. Saladin, Permanent Representative of the Dominican Republic to the OAS and his staff, including Mr. Flavio J. Medina, who were generous with their time and assistance in preparing the team. During the model, the OAS Assistant Secretary General, Mr. Albert R. Ramdin, and the Director of International Affairs, Mr. Jorge Sanín, addressed the delegates in the Hall of the Americas. Delegates to the model sat on one of five committees: General, Political and Juridical Affairs, Hemispheric Security, Integral Development, and Administrative and Budgetary Affairs. Two of the five committees were chaired by Baylor students, elected to their positions last year: Cindy Linkenhoger (Senior, Finance major from Harlingen, Texas) served as Head of Political and Juridical Affairs and Amanda Honey (Senior, History major, Entrepreneurship minor from Celina, Texas) chaired Integral Development. Catherine Gibson (Senior, Latin American Studies major from Bedford, Texas) who was elected president last year, but was unable to serve, assisted in managing the team. At this year's model, Baylor students were elected to the following positions for the 2013 model: Drew Vincent, Head Delegate (Junior, International Studies major, Spanish minor from Mableton, Georgia) president; Cody Brasher (Junior, International Studies major, Spanish minor from Moody, Alabama) chair of the Hemispheric Security Committee; Cristina Mendez (Sophomore, University Scholar from Brownsville, Texas) chair of the Integral Development Committee; and Diane Draper (Junior, History major from Crowley, Texas) chair of the Administrative and Budgetary Committee. In all, Baylor students will head four of the five committees at the model next year topping any finish by any university since Baylor began participating in the Washington model. Other team members included: Sheila González (Junior, Latin American Studies major and Anthropology minor from Roma, Texas), Brittney Quezada, Co-Head Delegate (Senior, Political Science major, History minor from Sugarland, Texas), Joan Stanton (Freshman, Political Science, French major from Massapequa, New York), Kristian Ramirez (Senior, History major, Art History minor from San Antonio, Texas), Carlos Rodarte (Junior, International Studies, Political Science major from Quebec, Canada), and Will Gregory (Sophomore, University Scholar from Kerrville, Texas). The team was coached by Dr. Joan E. Supplee, the Ralph L. and Bessie Mae Lynn Professor of History. For more information, please contact: Dr. Supplee: Joan_Supplee@baylor.edu Head Delegate Drew Vincent: Drew_Vincent@baylor.edu Co-Head Delegate Brittney Quezada: Brittney_Quezada@baylor.edu Chair Amanda Honey: Amanda_Honey@baylor.edu WMOAS Press Release 2012