Office of the Vice Provost for Research present to the Society of College and University Planners (SCUP) Southern 2011 Regional Conference
Society for College and University Planning

The Office of the Vice Provost for Research along with Perkins+Will representatives, the Baylor Research and Innovation Collaborative (BRIC) architects, recently gave two presentations to the Society of College and University Planners (SCUP) Southern 2011 Regional Conference. The two presentations, entitled "Private University Serves as Planning Catalyst for Community Partnership" and "Community Partnership Builds upon Vision to Fund Innovative Future," were competitively selected for the two-day event held in San Antonio, Texas. Over two hundred people attended the event.

The two presentations allowed the established BRIC vision to be shared. They included the challenging funding progress and how the BRIC may strengthen the vision through collaboration with a private university, public technical college, local industry, and local municipality partnerships. The presentations highlighted how these groups work together to cultivate strong research, industry, workforce training and technology development to bring economic advancement to the Central Texas region, a common goal. Information regarding the SCUP can be found here.

Baylor University is a private Christian university and a nationally ranked research institution, characterized as having “high research activity” by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The university provides a vibrant campus community for approximately 15,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating university in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 11 nationally recognized academic divisions. Baylor sponsors 19 varsity athletic teams and is a founding member of the Big 12 Conference.