Baylor > Student Government > Student Senate

Student Senate Meetings
Student Senate meets on Thursdays at 5 p.m. in Cashion 103. Meetings are open to the public. An open forum is allowed to 5 speakers for 1 minute each on any topic once the meeting begins.

Student Senate

Student Senate functions as the legislative branch of Student Government and exists to advocate on behalf of students to voice the opinion of Baylor students.

These goals are sought and accomplished by 52 representatives elected by the student body to represent each class. Within Student Senate, these members are separated into five standing committees to insure that the student body is most efficiently represented. These committees include Academic Affairs, Campus Improvements and Affairs, Finance, Operations and Procedures, and Public Relations. Ad Hoc committees also are formed, as needed, to address specific issues and projects.

Student Senate also has appropriating power over the Student Government Allocation Fund. Each student contributes toward this fund, which amounts to approximately $90,000 per semester. Student Senate allocates the funds toward programs, projects, or ideas aimed at the campus as a whole, community service, or charitable causes.

It is the duty of each member of the Student Senate to accomplish the aforementioned goals by operating as advocates for the student body.

Current Student Senators

Senior Senators

  • Michael English
  • Blake Hannas
  • Cole Hansen
  • Richard Horace
  • Gannon McCahill
  • Brantley McDaniel
  • Brice McKee
  • Kathryn Ott
  • Jailyn Parnell
  • Robbie Purdy
  • EJ Valentine

Junior Senators

  • Danny Avant
  • Pearson Brown
  • Danielle Cooper
  • Sam Gunn
  • Cody Heffron
  • Karsen Kiefer
  • Luke McCann
  • Sawyer Richburg
  • Gilbert Ruiz
  • Ali Sohani
  • Chase Hardy

Sophomore Senators

  • Lindsey Bacque
  • Colton Cupstid
  • Dustan Dendy
  • Paul Kiekhaefer
  • Rachael Larson
  • Rachael Oury
  • James Porter
  • Emily Neel
  • Walker Schmidt
  • Chase Tidmore

Freshmen Senators

  • Jessica Babb
  • Charles Mooney
  • Joey Danahy
  • Danny Dominguez
  • Austin Holland
  • Casey Meyer
  • Drew Otey
  • Joel Polvado
  • Jessica Porter
  • Will Townsend
  • Brittany Watts
  • Lucy Youngquist

*Vacancies in Student Senate can be filled outside of regular elections after an interview and appointment of the Class Officers of the respective class Senate seat sought. The application for Student Senate is available here: