Baylor University
National & International Scholarships
College of Arts and Sciences

About the Office

Elizabeth Vardaman

Elizabeth Vardaman, Associate Dean for Special Academic Programs


Phone: 254.710.4176

Office: Burleson 102

Key Areas of Responsibility:
National and International Scholarship Programs

Campus representative: Fulbright, Truman, Rotary, Marshall, Rhodes, Gates, and Soros

Steering Committee, Undergraduate Research and Scholarly Achievement (URSA)

Past Executive Board Member of the National Association of Fellowship Advisers (NAFA)

Dr. Kirsten Escobar, Scholarship Advisor


Phone: 254.710.3306

Office: Burleson 104

Mailing Address:
One Bear Place #97344
Waco, TX 76798-7344

National & International Scholarships Committee

This committee, comprised of faculty members from throughout the University, supports the efforts of students to apply and compete for nationally and internationally prestigious scholarships. Often, members of this committee will help select the Baylor students whom the University will endorse for a particular award, such as the Truman. Members of this committee also conduct mock interviews for students who have been chosen as finalists for an award such as the Marshall Scholarship--providing them with the invaluable opportunity to prepare thoroughly for their interview. In addition, committee members interview students competing for grants (e.g. the Fulbright) that require formal university endorsement.

Current Members

Elizabeth Dell, Chair, College of Arts & Sciences, English
Francesca Arnone, School of Music, Instrumental Studies
Bradley Bolen, School of Music, Keyboard Studies
Rena Bonem, College of Arts & Sciences, Geology
Seok Gu Byoun, Hankamer School of Business, Finance
Julie de Graffenreid, College of Arts & Sciences, History
Stephen Gardner, Hankamer School of Business, Economics
Tamara Hodges, School of Education, Educational Psychology
Theresa Varney Kennedy, College of Arts & Sciences, French
Carol Schuetz, Libraries
Richard Strot, School of Education, Curriculum & Instruction
Joan Supplee, College of Arts & Sciences, History
Laurel Zeiss, School of Music, Academic Studies

Ex officio

James Benninghof, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Policy, School of Music, Music Theory
Jennifer Carron, Assistant Vice President of Admission Services
Jackie Diaz, Assistant Vice President for Student Financial Services Strategy & Planning
Mark Long, Honors College
Ann Rushing, College of Arts & Sciences, Biology
David Uber, College of Arts & Sciences, French