SACS Header Image
SACS Website Baylor University


General SACS Information
• Academic Assessment
• Administrative Assessment
• Faculty Credentials
• Quality Enhancement Plan
• Assessment & Planning templates
Teams & Resources
SACS Reaffirmation Timeline
Contact Information
Baylor SACS home

Baylor > SACS > Process


More information
Select one of the links below for additional information on that topic.

Academic Assessment

Administrative Assessment

Faculty Credentials

Quality Enhancement Plan

In 2001, the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) announced a new set of accreditation criteria. The 475 "must" statements used in our last self-study have been replaced by 12 Core Requirements, 53 Comprehensive Standards and 8 Federal Mandates. Click here to read the new criteria.

Baylor convened a SACS Reaffirmation Task Force in fall 2004. This group had two primary goals in 2004-05: to understand the nuances of the new Principles of Accreditation and to educate the university community on the new process. Under the new criteria, four areas require a significant amount of faculty and staff time:

More committees will be convened during the next two years. Each group will have a unique charge tied to at least one of the Requirements, Standards or Mandates. The work will be captured in a Compliance Certification website submitted to SACS on Sept. 10, 2006, and a QEP submitted to SACS around Feb. 1, 2007.


Copyright © Baylor® University. All rights reserved. Legal Disclosures.
Baylor University  Waco, Texas 76798  1-800-229-5678