Baylor > Office of the Vice Provost for Research > External Funding Resources > Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards
Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards


The Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards Program supports the research and teaching careers of talented young faculty in the chemical sciences. Based on institutional nominations, the program provides discretionary funding to faculty at an early stage in their careers. Criteria for selection include an independent body of scholarship attained within the first five years of their appointment as independent researchers, and a demonstrated commitment to education, signaling the promise of continuing outstanding contributions to both research and teaching. The Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards Program provides an unrestricted research grant of $75,000.


The Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards Program is open to academic institutions in the States, Districts, and Territories of the United States of America that grant a bachelor's or higher degree in the chemical sciences, including biochemistry, materials chemistry, and chemical engineering. Nominees must hold a full-time tenure-track academic appointment, and are normally expected to have been appointed no earlier than mid-year 2007. Awardees are from Ph.D. granting departments in which scholarly research is a principal activity. Undergraduate education is an important component of the nominee's activities. Institutions may submit only one Camille Dreyfus nomination annually.


Institutions may only submit one proposal to the Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards Program. As with all such limited submission programs, PIs who wish to apply must first submit an internal application to the OVPR.

Click here for application information.


Internal letter of intent due December 30, 2013.

Full proposal due to sponsor February 10, 2014 (anticipated due date).


Click here to learn more about this opportunity.