Baylor > Political Science > About the Department > Baylor Graduate, Linda Wayner, Selected as Finalist for White House Fellows Program_News Story

On May 1, 2006, the White House announced that it had selected thirty-two outstanding individuals from across the country as National Finalists for the 2006-2007 White House Fellows Program - one of the Nation's most prestigious programs for leadership and public service. Among the National Finalists was Linda Wayner, who received a B.A. in International Studies and an M.A. in International Relations at Baylor University, before going on to study law at the University of Michigan.

The White House Fellows Program, founded in 1964 by President Lyndon B. Johnson, offers exceptional young men and women first-hand experience working at the highest levels of the Federal government. Fellows participate in an education program consisting of roundtable discussions with leaders from the private and public sectors, and study trips to examine U.S. policy in action. Following the Fellowship year, many Fellows repay the privilege by contributing to the Nation as better leaders and public servants.

Selection as a White House Fellow is highly competitive and based on a record of remarkable professional achievement, evidence of leadership skills, a strong commitment to public service, and the knowledge and skills necessary to contribute successfully at the highest levels of the Federal government. The program has fostered leaders in many fields, including Former Secretary of State Colin Powell; Secretary of Labor Elaine Chao; Former CNN President Tom Johnson; United Nations Foundation President and Former U.S. Senator Timothy Wirth; Former Supreme Allied Commander for Europe Wesley K. Clark; U.S. Senator Samuel Brownback; and U.S. Congressman Joe L. Barton.