Hispanic Heritage Month


National Hispanic Heritage Month is the period from September 15 to October 15 in the United States, when people recognize the contributions of Hispanic and Latino Americans to the United States and celebrate the group's heritage and culture.

September 15 was chosen as the starting point for the celebration because it is the anniversary of independence of five Latin American countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. All declared independence in 1821. In addition, Mexico, Chile and Belize celebrate their independence days on September 16, September 18, and September 21, respectively.

For more information about Hispanic Heritage Month contact:
Kelley Kimple, Associate Director for Multicultural Affairs at Baylor University.


Knowing facts on Hispanic culture could win you tickets to the annual banquet as well as t-shirts! Follow us on twitter @baylorMA for more details!