[Wade Rowatt]
WACO, Texas (Aug. 29, 2014)--Wade C. Rowatt, Ph.D, professor of psychology and neuroscience in Baylor’s College of Arts & Sciences, has been awarded national mentoring award from the American Psychological Association. Rowatt was recognized for his contribution to the psychology of religion by mentoring individuals who have become active in the field.
[Jeff Goh]
WACO, Texas (Aug. 29, 2014) – Baylor University has its very own Piano Man. His name is Jie Fang Goh. He goes by “Jeff.”
WACO, Texas (Aug. 15, 2014) – It started with Lego towers.
Then, as Sarah Stair’s love of building things grew, she advanced to constructing weight-bearing bridges out of paper and participating in the egg-drop contest – a rite of passage for students involved in science Olympiads and other such competitions.
[Chronicle - Great colleges to Work For 2014]
WACO, Texas (July 21, 2014) - For the fourth year in a row, Baylor University joined an elite group of universities named to The Chronicle of Higher Education’s 2014 Honor Roll as one of the country’s “Great Colleges to Work For.” Of only 42 national universities awarded Honor Roll status, Baylor is one of only two universities in the large university category (10,000 or more students) to achieve recognition in 10 of the 11 categories recognizing specific best practices and policies.
[brandon martinez]
WACO, Texas (July 11, 2014) – Brandon Martinez, Baylor University doctoral candidate in sociology, recently received the SAGE Teaching Innovations and Professional Development Award, presented by SAGE Publications.
WACO, Texas (July 9, 2014) – Baylor University is one of only 44 public and private colleges to be named a “Best Buy” in the 2015 edition of the best-selling Fiske Guide to Colleges, which bases its evaluations on universities with four- or five-star academic rankings, affordable cost and high quality of student life on campus.
[Fashion program]
WACO, Texas (July 9, 2014) – Baylor University’s Apparel Design and Product Development program was recognized recently by as among the top fashion design programs in the nation. The website ranked the program 35th out of 75 schools surveyed in the U.S., and sixth among Southwest schools.
WACO, Texas (June 27, 2014) – Baylor University has selected Alfredo Colman, Ph.D., associate professor in the Baylor University School of Music, as its 2014 Centennial Professor. The Centennial Faculty Development Review Committee awards the honor to a professor every spring semester.
WACO, Texas (June 26, 2014) — Baylor Law School was honored today by the State Bar of Texas with an award for exceptional service to the poor during the awards presentation at the organization’s Annual Meeting at the Hilton Austin and Austin Convention Center.
WACO, Texas (June 24, 2014) — Joel C. Gregory, Ph.D., professor of preaching at Baylor University’s George W. Truett Theological Seminary and the founder of an international ministry, on June 17 marked the 50th anniversary of his service during a celebration at The Church Without Walls (Brookhollow Baptist Church) in Houston.
[Bob Dixon]
WACO, Texas (June 24, 2014) – Baylor University recently joined with the Baptist General Convention of Texas and the Texas Baptist Historical Collection to present the Texas Baptists Legacy Award to two legendary Texas Baptists and rededicate the Texas Baptist Historical Museum on the site of the oldest continuously active Baptist church in the state – Independence, Texas.
[Donald D. Schmeltekopf]
WACO, Texas (June 23, 2014) – Donald D. Schmeltekopf, Ph.D., Baylor University Provost Emeritus, has been awarded the Charles D. Johnson Outstanding Educator Award. The award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated a commitment to Christian higher education through Baptist-related institutions.
[Joe McKinney]
WACO, Texas (June 17, 2014) – Picking one professor out of the fold to be recognized with “Of The Year” status takes long hours of poring over dozens of nominations and remarkable achievements. Joe McKinney, Ph.D., professor of economics in Baylor University’s Hankamer School of Business, recently received a major university honor and was selected to receive the 11th Cornelia Marschall Smith Professor of the Year Award.
[Dr. Kent Eshelman]
WACO, Texas (June 9, 2014) – Kent Eshelman, Ph.D., assistant professor in the department of instrumental studies, was awarded the Roger Bobo Award for Excellence in Recording for his album, Flavors.
WACO, Texas (June 9, 2014) – Caroline Power of Temple University’s Beasley School of Law took home the top prize at Baylor Law School's 2014 Top Gun National Mock Trial Competition on June 8. The invitation-only competition creates a challenging atmosphere for competitors and already is being called one of the toughest mock trial tournaments in the nation.
[Steven Driese]
WACO, Texas (June 2, 2014) — Due to his impressive and extensive track with the Society for Sedimentary Geology, Steven Driese, Ph.D. geology professor in the College of Arts and Sciences and Graduate Program Director, was awarded with an Honorary Membership. This award requires nomination for consideration and is based on years of service and professional achievements.
[George Gawrych]
WACO, Texas (May 8, 2014) – It may seem that all that can be written about the Great War has been written. But some military leaders have been overlooked, simply out of a lack of translation skills.
[Susan Johnsen]
WACO, Texas (May 5, 2014) - Susan K. Johnsen, Ph.D., professor in the Baylor School of Education and director of the Ph.D. Program in Education Psychology and of the Gifted Programs, was recently awarded the 2014 Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) Outstanding Leadership Award.
[Jonathan Keim]
WACO, Texas (May 2, 2014) – Several Baylor Bears from the many schools within Baylor University have much to celebrate after receiving prestigious national scholarships.
[amy butler]
WACO, Texas (April 30, 2014) — The Rev. Dr. Amy Butler, a Baylor University alumna, has been recommended by the pulpit committee of The Riverside Church in New York City , New York, to become senior pastor. If elected, she will become the first woman to lead the influential church in its 83-year history.
[Education seniors]
WACO, Texas (May 1, 2014) — During the 29th Annual School of Education (SOE) Senior Recognition Banquet, the SOE honored outstanding seniors within the school and its various programs. Students were recognized not only for their accomplishments as undergraduates, but also for their preparedness to impact the world.
[International Studies banquet]
WACO, Texas (April 28, 2014) – The Baylor University International Studies major recently celebrated its 60th anniversary.
[Jeremy Everett]
WACO, Texas (April 14, 2014) – House Speaker John Boehner, R-Ohio, has announced the appointment of Jeremy Everett, M.Div. ’01, director of the Texas Hunger Initiative at Baylor University, to the National Commission on Hunger.
[MOAS 1]
WACO, Texas (April 11, 2014) – Fifteen students from Baylor’s Model Organization of American States recently won the presidency of the model for the sixth consecutive year at the Washington Model Organization of American States (WMOAS).
WACO, Texas (April 9, 2014) - Two Baylor University alumni –- the late Judge Jack English Hightower, BA '49, LLB '51, and Ella Wall Prichard, a 1963 Baylor graduate and former member of the Baylor Board of Regents –- were honored April 9 at the Texas Library Association (TLA) Annual Conference in San Antonio. Judge Hightower was selected posthumously for Outstanding Services to Libraries Award, while Prichard received the Benefactor Award.
Looking for more news from Baylor University?