Baylor University Poage Library

Sheets Campaign Buttons

This collection of 71 buttons and five tabs was donated to the Poage Library on May 2, 2012, by Janet Sheets. Ms. Sheets is an associate professor and reference librarian at the Jesse H. Jones Library at Baylor University. The collection spans from President Theodore Roosevelt, who served from 1901-1909, to Ronald Reagan, who was president from 1981-1989. The earlier buttons were collected by Ms. Sheets' mother and handed down to her.

In addition to major candidates for president, the collection includes seven buttons from the late 60s and early 70s from North Carolina presidential primaries and gubernatorial races. These include:

  • Gavin for Governor 1960
  • Smith Bagby for Congress 1968
  • Sam Ervin for US Senate 1968
  • Bob Scott for Governor 1968
  • Hobby for Governor [no date]
  • Sanford for President 1972 primary

One unique button is the "I Want Roosevelt Again" pin that includes a donkey on a cord. This button was made by the Bastian Brothers which has been a Union shop since 1895.

Click on the thumbnails below for full-size images.



Buttons 1 Buttons 2