Baylor University Poage Library


You may print a membership form and mail your check, made out to Baylor University to:
The Standing Committee
One Bear Place 97153
Waco, TX 76798
Or call 254-710-3540

At the 25th anniversary celebration of the W.R. Poage Legislative Library, many of Congressman Poage's friends and former colleagues gathered to pay tribute to the man they served with and to talk about his legacy. Former Poage staffer Fowler West challenged everyone present to join together and form a support group for the legislative library. After sharing a meal and stories about Congressman Poage, Fowler West, Judge Jack Hightower and Congressman Alan Steelman had an informal meeting and resolved to establish a friends' group known as THE STANDING COMMITTEE. (Yes, they were standing around at the time!)

Fowler has served as Chair of The Standing Committee since 2004. John "Skip" Dowdy became co-chair for Texas in 2012.

THE STANDING COMMITTEE is an annual giving society dedicated to the financial support of the Baylor Collections of Political Materials. All members receive committee reports containing news about the progress of the library, new acquisitions, special gifts and use of COMMITTEE funds. Members also receive information about special events and activities at the Baylor Libraries.

You may JOIN ONLINE NOW! Simply fill in the amount of your membership on the form.

Member in Good Standing ($50+)
Staff Member ($100+)
Chief of Staff ($500+)
General Counsel ($1,000+)
Committee Chair ($2,500+)
Speaker of the House ($5,000+)

Click here for: